Orchestre Français des Jeunes

© F. Demesure

The Young Euro Classic audience has had ample opportunity to hear impressive concerts by the national youth orchestra of France, the Orchestre Français des Jeunes (OFJ). While they used to be led mainly by the orchestra’s then chief conductor, Dennis Russell Davies, his interim successor, the American David Zinman, provided an intriguing festival finale last year with works by Henri Dutilleux and Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 3. The OFJ was founded in 1982; its approximately 100 members meet several times a year at the orchestra’s home base, the Grand Théâtre de Provence in Aix-en-Provence, where they are taught by docents from leading French orchestras. The summer working period includes special workshops; this year, apart from specific professional expertise, the main topic is historically informed performance practice in orchestras. The OFJ has appointed a new chief conductor in 2017, Fabien Gabel.

www.ofj.fr

France
September 2, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy
Patron of the Evening
Fabien Gabel

© Gatan Bernard

The French conductor Fabien Gabel began his musical career as a trumpet player. He studied at the conservatory of his native Paris, later moving on to studies with Reinhold Friedrich at the Karlsruhe Music Academy. Starting in 2002, Gabel turned exclusively to conducting; in 2003 he made his debut at the helm of the Orchestre National de France. He has returned there regularly ever since and also guest-conducts with other renowned orchestras in Europe and the USA, for example the Orchestre de Paris, the BBC Symphony, the Toronto Symphony and Detroit Symphony Orchestra. In Germany, Gabel has appeared with the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra and most recently with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester at the Philharmonie in Berlin, where they performed works by Berlioz, Ravel, Dukas and Florent Schmitt in December 2016. In 2015 the 41-year-old conducted the premiere of Bizet’s opera Carmen at the Oslo Opera; furthermore, he recorded a CD of French opera arias together with the mezzo-soprano Marie-Nicole Lemieux.

www.fabiengabel.com

Conductor
Alexandra Soumm

© Beatrice Cruveiller

The Franco-Russian violinist Alexandra Soumm’s life trajectory took its course from her native city of Moscow to Vienna to Paris, where she lives today. The First Prize at the 2004 Eurovision Contest in Lucerne brought her first success at the age of 15. In the meantime, she has worked with many renowned conductors, including Herbert Blomstedt, Neeme Järvi, Leonard Slatkin, and Thomas Sondergard. She has been invited to the great orchestras in London and Paris as well as Israel, Tokyo, Detroit and Los Angeles. Alexandra Soumm is a passionate chamber musician, participating in master classes in the USA, Venezuela and Brazil, Israel and Japan. The violinist also founded the non-profit organisation “Esperanz’Arts” in 2012, which aims to make classical music available to people in schools, hospitals and prisons.

cami.com

 Violin

HÈCTOR PARRA

“L’absència“ (2013, German Premiere)

IGOR STRAVINSKY

Concerto for Violin in D (1931)

HECTOR BERLIOZ

“Symphonie fantastique“ Op. 14 (1831)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anne Kussmaul at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

It is almost unnecessary to introduce the Orchestre Français des Jeunes, the National Youth Orchestra of France. For many years, the young French musicians have been regular guests at Young Euro Classic, winning the audience’s hearts with quality, seriousness and passion. Now they return to the Konzerthaus with their new chief conductor, Fabien Gabel. Their programme brings together the two capitals of Paris and Berlin: the life of an artist between love, inebriation and downfall is the subject of the Symphonie fantastique, with which Hector Berlioz revolutionized orchestral music at the age of only 26. Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto had its world premiere at Berlin’s Haus des Rundfunks (Radio House) in 1931 – an anti-concerto which is not out for virtuosic brilliance, but profound sophistication. Last but not least, the French orchestra presents a contemporary work: this time, it was written by the Catalan composer Hèctor Parra, who teaches in Paris at the renowned IRCAM.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Orchestre Français des Jeunes

© F. Demesure

Das Publikum von Young Euro Classic hat das nationale französische Jugendorchester, das Orchestre Français des Jeunes (OFJ) schon oft mit eindringlichen Konzerten erleben können. War es früher vor allem der damalige Chefdirigent Dennis Russell Davies, so sorgte im vergangenen Jahr sein Interims-Nachfolger, der US-Amerikaner David Zinman, für einen spannenden Festivalabschluss, als er Werke von Henri Dutilleux und die dritte Symphonie von Rachmaninow aufführte. 1982 wurde das OFJ gegründet; die rund 100 Mitglieder kommen jährlich zu mehreren Arbeitsphasen am Sitz des Orchesters, dem Grand Théâtre de Provence in Aix-en-Provence, zusammen, wo sie von Dozenten der führenden Orchester Frankreichs unterrichtet werden. Verbunden mit der sommerlichen Probenphase sind spezielle Workshops; in diesem Jahr geht es neben spezifischer Berufsberatung vor allem um historisch informierte Aufführungspraxis im Orchester. Neuer Chefdirigent des OFJ ist seit 2017 Fabien Gabel.

www.ofj.fr

Frankreich
02. September 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy

© Antje Berghäuser

Eine Berufung an den Lehrstuhl des Collège de France erfolgt auf Lebenszeit. Die gebürtige Pariserin  Bénédicte Savoy hat damit im vergangenen Jahr den Gipfel der französischen Universitätslaufbahn erreicht. Promoviert wurde sie 2000 mit einer Arbeit über Napoleons Kunstraub in Deutschland. Und lehrt bereits seit 2003 an der Technischen Universität Berlin, zunächst als Juniorprofessorin, seit acht Jahren als Honorarprofessorin für Kunstgeschichte der Moderne. Das Fachgebiet ihres Herzens hat sie jedenfalls gefunden. Kaum ein Preis, mit dem sie mittlerweile nicht ausgezeichnet, kaum eine Mitgliedschaft in einem einflussreichen Gremium, die ihr nicht angetragen wurde. So ist sie z.B. Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Irgendwie schafft sie es, all das mit der gleichen großen Energie zu bewältigen. Und mit der ihr eigenen charmanten Art. Mit der Verleihung des Leibniz-Preises der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft letztes Jahr erklomm sie nun auch noch den deutschen Forschungsolymp und befleißigt sich ganz enorm bei der Nachwuchsförderung.

Patin des Abends
Fabien Gabel

© Gatan Bernard

Der französische Dirigent Fabien Gabel begann seine musikalische Laufbahn als Trompeter. Er studierte zunächst am Konservatorium seiner Heimatstadt Paris, später an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe bei Reinhold Friedrich. Ab 2002 wandte sich Gabel ausschließlich dem Dirigieren zu; 2003 gab er sein Debüt am Pult des Orchestre National de France. Seitdem ist er dort regelmäßig zu Gast, wie auch bei anderen renommierten Orchestern in Europa und den USA, etwa dem Orchestre de Paris, BBC Symphony, Toronto Symphony und Detroit Symphony Orchestra. In Deutschland stand Gabel am Pult der Staatskapelle Dresden, des hr-Symphonieorchesters und zuletzt des DSO in der Berliner Philharmonie, wo er im Dezember 2016 Werke von Berlioz, Ravel, Dukas und Florent Schmitt aufführte. 2015 leitete der 41-Jährige die Premiere von Bizets Oper Carmen an der Oper in Oslo; außerdem hat er gemeinsam mit der Mezzosopranistin Marie-Nicole Lemieux eine CD mit französischen Opernarien aufgenommen.

www.fabiengabel.com

 Dirigent
Alexandra Soumm

© Beatrice Cruveiller

Die franko-russische Geigerin Alexandra Soumm nahm ihren Weg von ihrer Geburtsstadt Moskau über Wien nach Paris, wo sie heute lebt. Der 1. Preis beim Eurovisions-Wettbewerb 2004 in Luzern brachte der damals 15-Jährigen den ersten großen Erfolg. Inzwischen ist sie mit vielen namhaften Dirigenten wie Herbert Blomstedt, Neeme Järvi, Leonard Slatkin und Thomas Sondergard aufgetreten. Einladungen führten sie zu den großen Orchestern in London und Paris wie auch nach Israel, Tokyo, Detroit und Los Angeles. Alexandra Soumm ist eine passionierte Kammermusikerin; Meisterklassen führten sie in die USA, nach Venezuela und Brasilien, Israel und Japan. Außerdem gründete die Geigerin 2012 mit Freunden die Non-Profit-Organisation „Esperanz’Arts“, die klassische Musik auch Menschen in Schulen, Krankenhäusern oder Gefängnissen zugänglich machen will.

cami.com

 Violine

HÈCTOR PARRA

„L’Absència“ (2013, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

IGOR STRAWINSKI

Konzert für Violine in D (1931)

HECTOR BERLIOZ

„Symphonie fantastique“ op. 14 (1831)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Vorzustellen braucht man das Orchestre Français des Jeunes, das nationale französische Jugendorchester, eigentlich nicht mehr. Seit vielen Jahren sind die jungen Franzosen Stammgast bei Young Euro Classic und begeistern das Publikum immer wieder mit Qualität, Ernsthaftigkeit und Leidenschaft. Nun kommen sie mit ihrem neuen Chefdirigenten Fabien Gabel ins Konzerthaus. Ihr Programm verbindet die beiden Hauptstädte Paris und Berlin miteinander: Das Leben eines Künstlers zwischen Liebe, Rausch und Absturz ist Thema der Symphonie fantastique, mit welcher der erst 26-jährige Hector Berlioz einst die Orchestermusik revolutionierte. Strawinskis Violinkonzert wurde 1931 im Berliner Haus des Rundfunks uraufgeführt – ein Anti-Konzert, das nicht auf virtuosen Glanz, sondern auf große Raffinesse setzt. Und auch ein zeitgenössisches Werk haben die Franzosen im Gepäck: Diesmal kommt es von dem Katalanen Hèctor Parra, der in Paris am renommierten IRCAM lehrt.

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.