O/Modərnt Kammarorkester

© Susan Poeschl

The O/Modərnt Kammarorkester has proven its creative approach to “classical” music several times already during the past seasons at Young Euro Classic. Taking their name, “O/Modərnt” – meaning “un/modern” – as a point of departure, the musicians take pride in exploring the relations between works by ancient composers and the artistic and intellectual products of modern culture. This spirit results in programmes of great stylistic variety – from arrangements of medieval motets via Bach and Vivaldi to commissioned works by contemporary composers and free improvisation. The O/Modərnt Kammarorkester is an essential part of the festival O/Modərnt, which Hugo Ticciati founded in 2011 and which is at home at the rococo theatre of Ulriksdal near Stockholm; it also has its own concert series at the concert hall Musikaliska in Sweden’s capital.

Sweden / India
August 21, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Gregor Burgenmeister
Patron of the Evening
Hugo Ticciati

© Marco Borggreve

The musical world of the Swedish violinist Hugo Ticciati is characterized by infinite curiosity. The 37-year-old brother of the designated chief conductor of Berlin’s DSO, Robin Ticciati, includes literature, philosophy, spirituality and meditation in his programmes, just like dance and kinetic painting. He performs the classical violin concertos, but also delves into contemporary music with verve. Ticciati has works by Takemitsu, Shchedrin, Glass and Lera Auerbach in his repertoire and has also given works by Albert Schnelzer, Sergey Yevtushenko and Tobias Boström their world premieres recently. He is a passionate chamber musician, working with the percussionist Evelyn Glennie, pianists Angela Hewitt and Olli Mustonen and the trombonist Nils Landgren, for example. In addition, Hugo Ticciati is the artistic director of the O/Modernt Kammarorkester, which is in residence at Stockholm’s concert hall Musikaliska.

www.hugoticciati.com

Violin, Artistic Director
Matthew Barley

© Nick White

Like Hugo Ticciati, the British cellist Matthew Barley, born in 1965, is a musical wanderer between worlds, switching effortlessly between classical and improvisation, electronic sounds and pedagogical projects. He has worked with such different artists as Jon Lord (of Deep Purple), Sultan Khan, Django Bates and jazz pianists Julian Joseph and Nikki Yeoh. Barley has performed world premieres of numerous cello works, including some by Detlev Glanert, John Metcalfe, John Woolrich and James McMillan. In 2013 he dedicated himself to Benjamin Britten’s centennial, giving about 100 performances and workshops in the process. In 1997 the cellist founded his ensemble “Between the Notes”, with which he has implemented more than 60 education projects with young musicians. Together with his wife, the violinist Viktoria Mullova, and “Between the Notes” he recorded the CD Through the Looking Glass in 2000, featuring pieces from Alanis Morisette to Miles Davis and George Harrison.

www.matthewbarley.com

Cello
Sukhvinder Singh

© Arshad Chaudhry

Raised in the holy village of Sri Bhaini Sahib in the Punjab, Sukhvinder Singh began early in life to learn the dholak (drum). Given his mixture of virtuosity, spontaneity and musical charisma as a tabla player, he has found a numerous and enthusiastic audience in India, Europe and the USA. During his career, he has worked with such outstanding compatriots as Ravi Shankar, Ustad Vilayat Khan and Ustad Amjad Ali Khan. In 1994 Sukhvinder Singh received a Grammy for his musical project A Meeting by the River.

www.sukhvinderpinky.com

 

 

Tabla

ARVO PÄRT

“Silouan’s Song“ for String Orchestra (1991)

PĒTERIS VASKS

“Distant Light“ Concerto for Violin (1997)

And improvisations with tabla, inspired by works by Pēteris Vasks, Sultan Khan and the Beatles – and much more.

PROGRAMME: From the Baltic to the Himalaya
Crossing Borders into the Unfamiliar Familiar

The O/Modərnt Kammarorkester from Stockholm has already proven several times at Young Euro Classic that it is absolutely fearless when it comes to non-classical eras, styles or instruments. This holds true once again this summer, when the musicians and their charismatic leader Hugo Ticciati undertake a long musical voyage from the Baltic Sea to the Himalayas. Silouan’s Song by the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt is more than music, representing a journey into the spiritual world of St. Silouan of Mount Athos. Creating “food for the soul” was also the Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks’ goal when he wrote his Violin Concerto Distant Light in 1997. These suggestive works will inspire the O/Modərnt Kammarorkester and Indian tabla master Sukhvinder Singh for the second half of the concert – its improvisations are likely to include such wildly different artists such as John Tavener, Sultan Khan and even the Beatles. A concert to open hearts, ears and all other senses!

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

O/Modərnt Kammarorkester

© Susan Poeschl

Das O/Modərnt Kammarorkester hat in den vergangenen Jahren bei Young Euro Classic schon mehrfach unter Beweis gestellt, wie kreativ es mit dem Begriff der „klassischen“ Musik umgeht. Ausgehend von ihrem Namen O/Modərnt – der sich mit „Un/Modern“ übersetzen ließe – machen es sich die Musiker zur Aufgabe, die Beziehungen zwischen den Werken alter Komponisten und den künstlerischen und intellektuellen Produkten der modernen Kultur neu zu erforschen. In diesem Sinne entstehen Programme von großer stilistischer Vielfalt – von Arrangements mittelalterlicher Motetten über Bach und Vivaldi bis zu Auftragswerken zeitgenössischer Komponisten und freien Improvisationen. Das O/Modərnt Kammarorkester ist fester Bestandteil des 2011 von Hugo Ticciati gegründeten Festivals O/Modərnt, das im Rokokotheater von Ulriksdal nahe Stockholm zuhause ist; außerdem hat es eine eigene Konzertsaison am Konzerthaus Musikaliska in Schwedens Hauptstadt.

Schweden / Indien
21. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Gregor Burgenmeister

Als Jugendlicher stand Gregor Burgenmeister selbst als Pianist auf der Bühne. Nach seinem Schulabschluss jedoch entschied er sich, das Musizieren lieber anderen zu überlassen und sich mit dem Film einer anderen Kunstform zuzuwenden. Von da an beschritt er seinen Weg als Programmmacher beim Filmfest Hamburg, als Lektor bei Studio Hamburg und in verschiedensten Positionen bei Film- und Fernsehproduktionen. Dort lernte er über die Jahre zu schätzen, was wesentlicher Bestandteil für einen jeden Medienmacher ist: das gute Erzählen spannender Geschichten. Nicht zuletzt seine alte Jugendliebe, die Musik, bewegte ihn schließlich dazu, sich nun doch auch beruflich mit ihr zu beschäftigen. Und so gründete er, unerschrocken von der Printkrise, 2005 in Hamburg das Magazin concerti mit eben solchen spannenden Geschichten rund um die klassische Musik und umfassenden Kalendarien. Und die Entwicklung concertis zum führenden Klassikmagazin in Deutschland nahm einen so einfachen wie plausiblen Anfang: „Das war Eigenbedarf. Mir hat so ein Heft gefehlt.“

 

 

Pate des Abends
Hugo Ticciati

© Marco Borggreve

Das musikalische Wirken des schwedischen Violinisten Hugo Ticciati ist von grenzenloser Neugier geprägt. Der 37-Jährige, Bruder des designierten DSO-Chefdirigenten Robin Ticciati, schließt Literatur, Philosophie, Spiritualität und Meditation gleichermaßen ein wie Tanz und kinetisches Malen. Er spielt die klassischen Violinkonzerte, aber er stürzt sich auch mit großer Vehemenz in die zeitgenössische Musik. Ticciati hat Werke von Takemitsu, Schtschedrin, Glass und Lera Auerbach in seinem Repertoire, außerdem brachte er in letzter Zeit Konzerte von Albert Schnelzer, Sergej Jewtuschenko und Tobias Boström zur Uraufführung. Er macht leidenschaftlich gern Kammermusik, so mit der Schlagzeugerin Evelyn Glennie, den Pianisten Angela Hewitt und Olli Mustonen oder dem Posaunisten Nils Landgren. Darüber hinaus ist Hugo Ticciati Künstlerischer Leiter des O/Modernt Kammarorkester, das seinen Sitz am Konzerthaus Musikaliska in Stockholm hat.

www.hugoticciati.com

Violine, Künstlerischer Leiter
Matthew Barley

© Nick White

Der britische Cellist Matthew Barley, Jahrgang 1965, ist wie Hugo Ticciati ein musikalischer Grenzgänger, der engagiert zwischen Klassik und Improvisation, elektronischen Klängen und pädagogischen Projekten hin und her wechselt. Dabei arbeitete er mit so unterschiedlichen Künstlern wie Jon Lord (von Deep Purple), Sultan Khan, Django Bates und den Jazzpianisten Julian Joseph und Nikki Yeoh zusammen. Barley brachte zahlreiche Cellowerke, darunter von Detlev Glanert, John Metcalfe, John Woolrich oder James McMillan, zur Uraufführung. 2013 widmete er sich dem 100. Geburtstag Benjamin Brittens mit etwa 100 Auftritten und Workshops. 1997 gründete der Cellist sein Ensemble „Between the Notes“, mit dem er seitdem über 60 Education Projekte mit jungen Musikern realisiert hat. Mit seiner Ehefrau, der Geigerin Viktoria Mullova, und „Between the Notes“ nahm er 2000 die CD „Through the Looking Glass“ mit Stücken von Alanis Morissette über Miles Davis bis George Harrison auf.

www.matthewbarley.com

Violoncello
Sukhvinder Singh

© Arshad Chaudhry

Aufgewachsen in der heiligen Stadt Sri Bhaini Sahib im Punjab, begann Sukhvinder Singh schon früh, das Trommel-Instrument Dholak zu spielen. Durch seine Mischung aus Virtuosität, Spontanität und musikalischer Ausstrahlung begeistert er als Tabla-Spieler seit langem sein Publikum in Indien, Europa und den USA. Dabei hat er mit namhaften Landsleuten wie Ravi Shankar, Ustad Vilayat Khan und Ustad Amjad Ali Khan musiziert. 1994 erhielt Sukhvinder Singh einen Grammy für das Musikprojekt „A Meeting by the River”.

www.sukhvinderpinky.com

 

 

Tabla
Soumik Datta

Der britisch-indische Sarod-Spieler Soumik Datta versteht sich als musikalischer Brückenbauer zwischen klassisch-indischer und zeitgenössischer Musik. Dabei hat er mit Künstler wie Beyonce, Jay-Z, Bill Bailey und Akram Khan zusammengearbeitet. 2015 schrieb er für den belgisch-marokkanischen Choreografen Sidi Larbei Cherkaoui die Musik zu dessen international gefeiertem Tanztheaterstück „Fractus V“; zuletzt realisierte er das Filmprojekt „Lost Musicians of India“.

 

 

Sarod

ARVO PÄRT

„Silouan’s Song“ für Streichorchester (1991)

PĒTERIS VASKS

„Fernes Licht“ Konzert für Violine (1997)

und Improvisationen mit Tabla, inspiriert von Werken von Pēteris Vasks, Sultan Khan und den Beatles – und vieles mehr.

PROGRAMM: Von der Ostsee zum Himalaya
Über Grenzen ins Fremd-Vertraute

Das O/Modərnt Kammarorkester aus Stockholm hat bei  Young Euro Classic schon mehrfach unter Beweis gestellt, dass es keinerlei Berührungsängste mit nicht-klassischen Zeiten, Stilen und Instrumenten kennt. So auch in diesem Sommer, wenn die Musiker unter ihrem charismatischen Leiter Hugo Ticciati eine weite Reise von der Ostsee zum Himalaya antreten. Schon Silouan’s Song des Esten Arvo Pärt ist mehr als Musik, nämlich eine Reise in die geistige Welt des Hl. Siluan vom Berg Athos. Als „Nahrung für die Seele“ komponierte auch der lettische Komponist Pēteris Vasks 1997 sein Violinkonzert „Fernes Licht“. Von dessen suggestiven Werken lässt sich das O/Modərnt Kammarorkester gemeinsam mit dem indischen Tablaspieler Sukhvinder Singh im zweiten Teil seines Festivalkonzerts inspirieren – und schließt bei seinen Improvisationen weitere ganz unterschiedliche Künstler wie John Tavener, Sultan Khan und sogar die Beatles mit ein. Ein Konzert, das die Herzen, Ohren und alle übrigen Sinne öffnet!

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.