Moldovan National Youth Orchestra

The Moldovan National Youth Orchestra was founded in the summer of 2011 by the Music and Choral Association of the Republic of Moldova, following an initiative of the young conductor Andriano Marian. The approximately 200 instrumentalists with an average age of 22 are mostly from the Republic of Moldova and its neighbour Romania, but many of them study at music academies in Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, Russia and other European countries. During the past five years, the orchestra has already given more than 50 concerts; its broad repertoire ranges from the Russians Tchaikovsky and Prokofiev to the Hungarians Bartók and Kodály to Brahms and Mendelssohn, Ravel and Fauré. In pursuit of its goal of introducing a broad audience to classical music, the Moldovan National Youth Orchestra puts special focus on performing outside of concert halls, for example in streets and public squares. The Orchestra’s chief conductor is Gabriel Bebeselea.

Republic of Moldova
August 27, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Gabriel Bebeselea

The young Romanian conductor Gabriel Bebeselea graduated from the Music Academy in Cluj-Napoca with a bachelor’s degree in conducting in 2010, followed by a master’s degree from the Bucharest Music University in 2012. At the same time, he received a scholarship to work as a conducting assistant at the renowned Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam. In 2015 he won the Lovro-von-Matacic Conducting Competition in Zagreb; in 2016 he reached the semi-finals of the Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition in Bamberg. Bebeselea enjoyed a great success in the summer of 2016 with Rossini’s Il viaggio a Reims at the Rossini Festival in Pesaro. In December 2017 he will record a CD of works by the Romanian composer George Enescu with the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin. At the moment, the 29-year-old holds the position of chief conductor of the National Opera House of Romania and the Transylvanian Philharmonic Orchestra in Cluj-Napoca. He is also the artistic director of the Moldovan National Youth Orchestra.

www.gabrielbebeselea.com

 Conductor
Valentina Naforniţa

© Dragosh Cojcaru

At barely 30 years of age, the soprano Valentina Naforniţa was catapulted into the international limelight when she won the prestigious vocal competition “BBC Singer of the World” in Cardiff, Wales, in 2011. Ever since, she has been an ensemble member of the Vienna State Opera, where she has sung important Mozart roles such as Susanna and Pamina, but also Norina in a new production of Donizetti’s Don Pasquale, alongside Juan Diego Florez. The Peruvian tenor was also her partner in Massenet’s Werther in Paris, along with Joyce DiDonato. Valentina Naforniţa has appeared at the Berlin State Opera as Oscar in Verdi’s Un ballo in maschera; at La Scala Milan she performed the role of Gilda in Rigoletto under Gustavo Dudamel’s baton. The Moldovan soprano lives in Vienna with her husband, the baritone Mihail Dogatari. She has founded a charitable organization, CCF, helping children being brought up in institutions to re-join their families.

www.nafornita.com

 Soprano

MIECZYSŁAW WEINBERG

Rhapsody on Moldovan Themes Op. 47/1 (1949)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Concert Aria “Ah, lo previdi! - Ah, t’invola - Deh, non varcar“ K. 272 (1777)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Concert Aria “Bella mia fiamma, addio“ in C-Major K. 528 (1787)

GEORG ENESCU

“Pastoral Fantasy” (1916, arr. Sabin Pautza, German Premiere)

MODEST MUSSORGSKY

“Pictures at an Exhibition” (1874/1922 instr. Maurice Ravel)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anne Kussmaul at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

A small country in Eastern Europe introduces itself with its National Youth Orchestra at Young Euro Classic. The young musicians come from the Republic of Moldova, yet many of them study in Germany and Austria, in the Netherlands or Scandinavia. No wonder they are presenting a highly ambitious programme which also incorporates the rich musical tradition of their neighbouring countries. After all, George Enescu, Romania’s most important composer, will be performed alongside his Polish colleague Mieczyslaw Weinberg with his Rhapsody on Moldovan Themes. Not to mention the fascinating Pictures at an Exhibition by the Russian Modest Mussorgsky, whose finale pays homage to the “Great Gate” of the Ukrainian capital Kiev. However, the Republic of Moldova has produced great musicians of its own: at the festival concert, the young soprano Valentina Nafornița, an ensemble member at the Vienna State Opera, sings two great concert arias by Mozart.

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandradio Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Moldovan National Youth Orchestra

Gegründet wurde das Nationale moldawische Jugendorchester im Sommer 2011 von der Musik- und Chorvereinigung der Republik Moldau auf Initiative des jungen Dirigenten Andriano Marian.  Die etwa 200 jungen Instrumentalisten mit einem Durchschnittsalter von 22 Jahren studieren größtenteils an Hochschulen in Deutschland, Österreich, den Niederlanden, Russland und anderen europäischen Staaten. In den vergangenen fünf Jahren hat das Orchester bereits über 50 Konzerte absolviert; das weitgefächerte Repertoire reicht von den Russen Tschaikowski und Prokofjew über die Ungarn Bartók und Kodály bis zu Brahms und Mendelssohn, Ravel und Fauré. In seiner Absicht, klassische Musik einem breitem Publikum vorzustellen, legt das Moldovan National Youth Orchestra besonderen Wert auf Auftritte außerhalb von Konzertsälen, etwa auf Straßen und Plätzen. Chefdirigent des Orchesters ist Gabriel Bebeselea.

Republik Moldau
27. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Boris Aljinovic

Boris Aljinovic geht es wie so vielen begnadeten Bühnen- und Theater-Schauspielern: Richtig bekannt geworden ist der Sohn einer Deutschen und eines Kroaten vor allem durch das Fernsehen. 14 Jahre lang gab er an der Seite von Dominic Raacke (alias Till Ritter) den Berliner Tatort-Kommissar Felix Stark. Damit ist seit drei Jahren Schluss – und im Gegensatz zu manchen anderen hat Aljinovic die Handschellen souverän an den Nagel gehängt, ohne diesem Schauspielamt in der Boulevardpresse nachzuweinen. Nach langen Tatort-Jahren und vielen Filmen, z.B.an der Seite von Otto Waalkes, kennt den vielseitigen Schauspieler, der ebenso albern und verspielt wie nachdenklich und tiefgründig sein kann, ohnehin fast jeder in Deutschland. Leise und nachdenklich ist er auch als Mensch – mit feinem Humor begabt. Kein  Wunder: Ursprünglich wollte Boris Aljinovic Comic-Zeichner werden. Zurzeit tobt sich der 50-Jährige vornehmlich wieder auf der Bühne aus, produziert erfolgreiche Hörbücher – und kämpft gern monatelang und häufig ganz allein in seinem Segelboot mit Wind und Wellen statt mit imaginären Verbrechern.

Pate des Abends
Gabriel Bebeselea

Der junge rumänische Dirigent Gabriel Bebeselea machte 2010 seinen Bachelor-Abschluss im Fach Dirigieren an der Musikakademie Cluj-Napoca, 2012 folgte sein Master-Examen an der Musikuniversität in Bukarest. Gleichzeitig erhielt er ein Stipendium, um als Dirigierassistent am renommierten Concertgebouw-Orchester in Amsterdam zu arbeiten. 2015 gewann er den Lovro-von-Matacic-Dirigierwettbewerb in Zagreb, 2016 stand er im Halbfinale beim Gustav Mahler-Dirigierwettbewerb in Bamberg. Einen großen Erfolg feierte Bebeselea im Sommer 2016 mit Rossinis Il viaggio a Reims beim Rossini-Festival in Pesaro. Im Dezember 2017 wird er mit dem Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin eine CD mit Werken des rumänischen Komponisten George Enescu aufnehmen. Derzeit wirkt der 29-Jährige als Chefdirigent des Nationalen Rumänischen Opernhauses und der Transsilvanischen Philharmonie in Cluj-Napoca sowie als Künstlerischer Leiter des moldawischen Jugendorchesters.

www.gabrielbebeselea.com

 Dirigent
Valentina Nafornița

© Dragosh Cojcaru

Die gerade einmal 30-jährige Sopranistin Valentina Nafornița katapultierte sich 2011 ins internationale Rampenlicht, als sie den prestigereichen Gesangswettbewerb der BBC Singer of the World im walisischen Cardiff gewann. Seitdem ist sie Ensemblemitglied der Wiener Staatsoper, wo sie wichtige Mozartrollen wie Susanna und Pamina, aber auch die Norina in einer Neuproduktion von Donizettis Don Pasquale an der Seite von Juan Diego Florez gesungen hat. Der peruanische Tenor war neben Joyce DiDonato auch ihr Partner in Massenets Werther in Paris. An der Staatsoper Berlin war Valentina Nafornița als Oscar in Verdis Ballo in maschera zu erleben; an der Mailänder Scala trat sie unter Gustavo Dudamels Leitung als Gilda in Rigoletto auf. Die moldawische Sopranistin lebt mit ihrem Mann, dem Bariton Mihail Dogatari, in Wien. Mit ihrem sozial engagierten Verein CCF hilft sie Heimkindern in ihrem Heimatland bei der Wiedereingliederung in ihre Familien.

www.nafornita.com

 Sopran

MIECZYSŁAW WEINBERG

Rhapsodie über moldawische Themen op. 47/1 (1949)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Konzertarie „Ah, lo previdi! - Ah, t’invola - Deh, non varcar" KV 272 (1777)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART

Konzertarie „Bella mia fiamma, addio“ C-Dur KV 528 (1787)

GEORGE ENESCU

„Pastorale - Fantaisie“ (1899, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

MODEST MUSSORGSKI

„Bilder einer Ausstellung“ (1874/1922 instrumentiert von Maurice Ravel)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Ein kleines Land im Osten Europas stellt sich mit seinem nationalen Jugendorchester bei Young Euro Classic vor. Aus der Republik Moldau kommen die jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker, aber viele von ihnen studieren in Deutschland und Österreich, in den Niederlanden oder Skandinavien. Kein Wunder, dass sie ein höchst ambitioniertes Programm mitbringen, das die reiche Musiktradition der Nachbarländer miteinbezieht. Denn George Enescu, Rumäniens bedeutendster Komponist, ist ebenso zu hören wie der Pole Mieczysław Weinberg mit seiner Rhapsodie über moldawische Themen. Und nicht zu vergessen die packenden Bilder einer Ausstellung des Russen Modest Mussorgski, die im Finale dem „Großen Tor“ in der ukrainischen Hauptstadt Kiew huldigen. Aber auch die Republik Moldau bringt große Musiker hervor: Im Festivalkonzert singt die junge Sopranistin Valentina Nafornița, Mitglied der Wiener Staatsoper, zwei großartige Konzertarien von Mozart.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit am 29.08.17 ab 20:03 Uhr gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

____________________________________

Dieses Konzert wird LIVE und ON DEMAND auf ARTE CONCERT gestreamt: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.