Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester

© Cosimo Filippini

When founding the orchestra in Vienna in 1986, Claudio Abbado was still guided by the idea of overcoming the Iron Curtain with the help of music. 30 years later, the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester has long become a pan-European orchestra – with 2000 young musicians applying every year in 25 cities for one of approximately 100 places in the orchestra. The level is proportionately high, and the list of conductors reads like an international Who is Who: from Herbert Blomstedt, Peter Eötvös, Bernard Haitink and Mariss Jansons among the older generation to younger stars like Paavo Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski, Daniel Harding, Jonathan Nott and David Afkham. The Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester has performed at the great halls in London, Amsterdam, Vienna and New York as well as the festivals in Salzburg and Lucerne, in Edinburgh and at the BBC Proms. After its celebrated performance in 2016, the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester now returns to Young Euro Classic.

www.gmjo.at

International
August 31, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Patricia Schlesinger

© rbb Thorsten Klapsch

Patron of the Evening
Ingo Metzmacher

© Harald Hoffmann

The conductor Ingo Metzmacher needs no special introduction in Berlin. He left a permanent impression a the latest during his tenure as chief conductor of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester (2007-2010), leading thematic concert cycles dedicated to “The German Soul” or “1909” and introducing moderated Casual Concerts. The 58-year-old Metzmacher commands a huge concert and opera repertoire, with particular focus on 20th-century and contemporary music. Works by Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Hans Werner Henze and Wolfgang Rihm are included, just like Olivier Messiaen, Luigi Nono and Edgard Varèse. At the same time, Metzmacher also champions romantic rarities by Schubert, Humperdinck and Pfitzner. He led a new production of Wagner’s Ring at the Geneva Opera in 2013/14. This spring, the festival KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen takes place under Metzmacher’s artistic direction for the second time.

www.ingometzmacher.com

Conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet

© Decca/Kasskara

The French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet is not only at home in all the world’s famous concert halls, but also a regular guest in Berlin. Most recently, he appeared here as the soloist in Messiaen’s Turangalîla Symphony at the Musikfest Berlin and performed piano works by Gershwin and Qigang Chen with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester in November 2016. This illustrates the enormous range of the pianist’s repertoire, including Saint-Saëns, Schumann and Grieg as much as Tchaikovsky, Khachaturian, Duke Ellington and Bill Evans. This season, Thibaudet toured through China with the West Australian Symphony Orchestra. At the same time, he was Artist in Residence at the Orchestre National de France, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and the Colburn School in Los Angeles, where he performed as a soloist and chamber musician and gave master classes. In addition, Thibaudet has a passion for film music, most recently recording Aaron Zigman’s music for Wakefield (2016). He also performed the solo parts in the soundtracks to Atonement (2007) and Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (2012).

www.jeanyvesthibaudet.com

Piano

ARNOLD SCHOENBERG

“Accompaniment to a Film Scene” Op. 34 (1930)

GEORGE GERSHWIN

Concerto for Piano in F (1925)

BÉLA BARTÓK

“The Wonderful Mandarin” Op. 19 (1919)

MAURICE RAVEL

“Daphnis et Chloé” Suite No. 2 (1907/1912)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anne Kussmaul at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

Last year the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester made an unforgettable impression with its rendition of Mahler’s Ninth Symphony. This year the musicians once again stop in Berlin on their summer tour. Originally founded by Claudio Abbado, the GMJO has been one of the world’s best youth orchestras for more than 30 years. Prominent conductors impart all their experience to the young musicians – and the Berlin festival performance of 2017 will be no exception, with Ingo Metzmacher leading the orchestra. The programme of early 20th-century highlights is perfectly tailored to the strengths of this ensemble: Bartók’s highly demanding score for the ballet The Wonderful Mandarin is complemented by the inebriated whirl of Ravel’s Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloé. Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F provides a jazzy contrast and features a celebrated interpreter of this piece (and many others), the French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester

© Cosimo Filippini

Bei der Gründung des Orchesters in Wien 1986 war es noch die Idee Claudio Abbados, mit Hilfe der Musik die Grenzen des Eisernen Vorhangs zu überwinden. 30 Jahre später ist aus dem Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester längst ein gesamteuropäisches Orchester geworden – mit 2000 jungen Musikern, die sich Jahr für Jahr in 25 Städten um die etwa 100 Plätze bewerben. Dementsprechend hoch ist das Niveau, und auch die Liste der Dirigenten liest sie wie ein Who’s Who der internationalen Szene: von Herbert Blomstedt, Pierre Boulez, Sir Colin Davis, Peter Eötvös, Bernard Haitink und Mariss Jansons in der älteren Generation bis zu den Jüngeren wie Paavo Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski, Daniel Harding, Jonathan Nott und David Afkham. In den großen Sälen in London, Amsterdam, Wien und New York ist das Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester ebenso aufgetreten wie bei den Festivals in Salzburg und Luzern, in Edinburgh und bei den BBC Proms. Nach seinem gefeierten Auftritt 2016 unter Philippe Jordan ist das Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester nun erneut zu Gast bei Young Euro Classic.

www.gmjo.at

International
31. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Patricia Schlesinger

© rbb Thorsten Klapsch

Als Journalistin war Patricia Schlesinger beim Norddeutschen Rundfunk (NDR) Reporterin, Redakteurin und Moderatorin für das ARD-Magazin „Panorama“. Sie leitete das ARD-Studio Südostasien in Singapur und war USA-Korrespondentin in Washington. Nach ihrer Rückkehr übernahm sie die Leitung des Programmbereichs Kultur und Dokumentation beim NDR Fernsehen. Seit 2016 ist sie Intendantin des Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg. Von Patricia Schlesinger betreute Produktionen gewannen zahlreiche Auszeichnungen – darunter der Deutsche Filmpreis, Grimme- und Fernsehpreis, ein Emmy Award und ein Oscar. Patricia Schlesinger engagiert sich im Kuratorium der Freien Universität Berlin, im Hochschulrat der HfS „Ernst Busch“ sowie im Deutschen Komitee für UNICEF. Sie ist verheiratet und hat eine Tochter.

Patin des Abends
Ingo Metzmacher

© Harald Hoffmann

Den Dirigenten Ingo Metzmacher braucht man in Berlin nicht besonders vorzustellen. Spätestens in seiner Zeit als Chefdirigent des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters (2007-2010) hat er mit seinen thematischen Konzertzyklen („Von deutscher Seele“, „1909“) und den von ihm moderierten „Casual Concerts“ bleibende Eindrücke hinterlassen. Der 58-jährige Metzmacher beherrscht ein riesiges Konzert- und Opernrepertoire, das besonders starke Akzente auf der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie bei zeitgenössischen Komponisten setzt. Werke von Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Hans Werner Henze und Wolfgang Rihm zählen ebenso dazu wie Olivier Messiaen, Luigi Nono und Edgard Varèse. Zugleich engagiert sich Metzmacher auch für romantische Raritäten von Schubert, Humperdinck oder Pfitzner; an der Genfer Oper leitete er 2013/14 eine Neuproduktion von Wagners Ring. In diesem Frühjahr finden unter Metzmachers künstlerischer Leitung zum zweiten Mal die KunstFestSpiele Herrenhausen statt.

www.ingometzmacher.com

 Dirigent
Jean-Yves Thibaudet

© Decca/Kasskara

Der französische Pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet ist nicht nur in allen großen Konzertsälen dieser Welt, sondern auch in Berlin regelmäßig zu Gast. Zuletzt trat er als Solist in Messiaens Turangalîla-Symphonie beim Musikfest Berlin auf und spielte im November mit dem DSO Klavierwerke von Gershwin und Qigang Chen. Dies zeigt die enorme Bandbreite des Pianisten, die Saint-Saëns, Schumann und Grieg ebenso einschließt wie Tschaikowski, Chatschaturjan, Duke Ellington und Bill Evans. In dieser Saison tourte Thibaudet mit dem West Australian Symphony Orchestra durch China. Zugleich wirkt er als Artist-in-Residence beim Orchestre National de France, den Wiener Symphonikern und der Colburn School in Los Angeles; dabei stehen solistische Auftritte neben Kammermusik und Meisterkursen. Darüber hinaus pflegt Thibaudet sein Faible für Filmmusik, zuletzt mit Aaron Zigmans Musik zu Wakefield (2016). Auch in den Soundtracks von Atonement (2007) und Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (2012) wirkte er als Solist mit.

www.jeanyvesthibaudet.com

Klavier

ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG

„Begleitmusik zu einer Lichtspielscene“ op. 34 (1930)

GEORGE GERSHWIN

Konzert für Klavier in F (1925)

BÉLA BARTÓK

„Der wunderbare Mandarin“ op. 19 (1919)

MAURICE RAVEL

„Daphnis et Chloé“ Suite Nr. 2 (1907/1912)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Im vergangenen Jahr sorgte das Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester mit Mahlers Neunter für einen unvergesslichen Abend. Jetzt machen die Musiker auf ihrer Sommertournee wieder Station in Berlin. Einst von Claudio Abbado gegründet, spielt das GMJO seit 30 Jahren an der Spitze der weltbesten Jugendorchester mit. Bekannte Dirigenten geben ihre ganze Erfahrung an die jungen Musiker weiter – so auch beim Berliner Festivalauftritt 2017, wenn Ingo Metzmacher das Orchester leitet. Das Programm mit Highlights des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts ist so recht auf die Fähigkeiten dieses Ensembles zugeschnitten: Bartóks höchst anspruchsvolle Musik zu dem Ballett Der wunderbare Mandarin, dazu die rauschhafte Suite Nr. 2 aus Ravels Daphnis et Chloé. Und als jazziger Kontrast Gershwins Klavierkonzert in F, mit einem gefeierten Kenner dieses Stücks an den Tasten: dem Franzosen Jean-Yves Thibaudet.

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.