Cuban-European Youth Orchestra

The Cuban-European Youth Academy (CuE) stands for transatlantic cultural exchange beyond borders, for cooperation and support for youth, for give and take, hospitality, sustainability and continuity in education. It was founded in 2014 by Thomas Hengelbrock and the Academy Balthasar Neumann, and is supported by the German Foreign Ministry. Foreign Minister Sigmar Gabriel is its patron. The transatlantic orchestra projects of CuE were initiated by the Academy Balthasar Neumann and the Rheingau Music Festival and first implemented in the summer of 2015 – with a rehearsal phase near Wiesbaden and a final concert at the Rheingau Music Festival. The Cuban-European Youth Academy and the CuE Orchestra is the only Cuban-European orchestra in the world. Beyond the orchestral work, it forms chamber ensembles, gives master courses and presents workshops. One focus of the musical work is on contemporary Cuban music and the classical European symphonic orchestra repertoire. In 2017 the Rheingau Music Festival has enabled the continued financing of this joint project and its transatlantic orchestra, combined with a concert at the Kurhaus Wiesbaden and the world premiere of the work commissioned by the Rheingau Music Festival from the young Cuban violinist Jenny Peña Campo.

International
September 3, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Patron of Young Euro Classic: Michael Müller

© Senatskanzlei / Martin Becker

Michael Müller was born in Berlin in 1964 and attended the Secondary School of Economics and Administration after graduating from Middle School. He completed a commercial apprenticeship in 1986. Together with his father, he ran an independent printing house in Berlin’s Tempelhof district until 2011. At the early age of 17, Michael Müller joined the SPD and became an active local politician. From 1989 to 1996 he was a member of the Tempelhof Municipal Council, ultimately becoming chairman of his faction. He has been a member of Berlin’s State Parliament since 1996, elected directly in his district of Tempelhof-Schöneberg since 2001. From 2000 to 2004 he was Chairman of the SPD in Tempelhof-Schöneberg. From June 2001 to November 2011, Michael Müller was Chairman of the SPD Faction in Berlin’s State Parliament. From 2004 to 2012 and again since 2016 he has also been the SPD’s State Chairman. In December 2011 Müller became Senator for Urban Development and the Environment and one of two deputies to the Governing Mayor of Berlin. Michael Müller was elected Governing Mayor in December 2014 and again in December 2016. He is married and has two children.

 The Governing Mayor of Berlin
Duncan Ward

 

© Alan Kerr

Duncan Ward already looks back upon an astounding range of musical experience. At 12, he composed his first musical, Alice in Wonderland – and conducted it with his own orchestra at his school in the British county of Kent. Soon after, he founded his own band, “The Grasshoppers”, accompanied silent movies at the piano, became a member of the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, and was proclaimed “Composer of the Year” at the BBC Competition in 2005. In 2012 Ward became the first conductor to join the Orchestra Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as Simon Rattle’s assistant. He conducted members of the Philharmonic and its Academy in numerous concerts featuring music by Webern and Boulez and – on the occasion of the centennial in 2013 – Britten, among others.  This season brings his debuts with the Orchestras of the Bavarian Radio and the MDR Radio Leipzig, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Ensemble Intercontemporain in Paris. Duncan Ward conducts the Ensemble Modern at world premieres of works by Isabel Mundry and Manfred Trojahn.

www.duncan-ward.co.uk

Conductor
Sophie Pacini

© Roland Breitschuh/ Warner Classics

Sophie Pacini, a 26-year-old native of Munich, made her concert debut at the age of nine, playing Haydn’s Concerto in D-Major. At the age of ten, she began studying with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling in Salzburg, adding further studies with Pavel Gililov later. One important supporter was Martha Argerich, whom she played for spontaneously at an Italian hotel, whereupon the prominent pianist invited her to her festival in Lugano in 2010. Sophie Pacini has performed at the Ruhr Piano Festival, at the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival and the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival. This season, the daughter of an Italian professor of literature has been invited as a soloist with the Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig, the Bournemouth Symphony and the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich. She also released her fourth CD featuring works by Beethoven and Liszt; her previous solo albums covered Schumann, Liszt and Chopin, and she also released a CD with piano concertos by Mozart and Schumann. In 2014 Sophie Pacini won an Echo Classic Award.

www.sophie-pacini.com

Piano

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Overture of “The Creatures of Prometheus” Op. 43 (1801)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Concerto for Piano No. 3 in C-Minor Op. 37 (1803)

JACQUES IBERT

“Bacchanale“ (1956)

GEORGE GERSHWIN

“Cuban Overture“ (1932)

JENNY PEÑA CAMPO

Suite (2017) (Commissioned by the Rheingau Music Festival)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anne Kussmaul at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

Another premiere for the grand finale of Young Euro Classic 2017: for the first time, the Cuban-European Youth Orchestra performs at Berlin’s Konzerthaus. The ensemble behind the name is a very young orchestra which brings European talents together with their young Cuban counterparts at its music stands. And of course it combines Cuban temperament with European tradition – a fact also reflected in the diverse programme performed at Young Euro Classic! At the beginning, there is a lot of Beethoven; the second part then features the breath-taking Bacchanale by the French composer Ibert, a brand-new piece by the young Cuban composer Jenny Peña Campo (commissioned by the Rheingau Music Festival) and Gershwin’s Cuban Overture. The conductor and the soloist are absolute “must-hears” as well: Duncan Ward is a British shooting star; the 26-year-old German pianist Sophie Pacini is one of the great keyboard talents of her generation.

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app. The date of the broadcast is September 7, 2017, 20:03-22:00.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Cuban-European Youth Orchestra

Die Cuban-European Youth Academy (CuE) steht für einen grenzüberschreitenden transatlantischen Kulturaustausch, Kooperation und Jugendförderung, für Geben und Nehmen, Gastfreundschaft, Nachhaltigkeit und Kontinuität in der Ausbildung. Sie wurde 2014 von Thomas Hengelbrock und der Akademie Balthasar Neumann ins Leben gerufen und wird durch das Auswärtige Amt unterstützt. Schirmherr ist Außenminister Sigmar Gabriel. Die transatlantischen Orchesterprojekte der CuE wurden von der Akademie Balthasar Neumann und dem Rheingau Musik Festival initiiert und im Sommer 2015 erstmals in die Realität umgesetzt – mit einer Probenphase in der Nähe von Wiesbaden und einem Abschlusskonzert im Rahmen des Rheingau Musik Festivals. Die Cuban-European Youth Academy mit dem CuE Orchestra bildet das weltweit einzige kubanisch-europäische Orchester. Über die Orchesterarbeit hinaus werden Kammermusikensembles gebildet, Meisterkurse abgehalten und Workshops veranstaltet. Ein Schwerpunkt der musikalischen Arbeit liegt auf zeitgenössischer kubanischer Musik sowie dem klassischen europäischen Sinfonieorchester-Repertoire. Im Jahr 2017 ermöglicht das Rheingau Musik Festival durch die Weiterfinanzierung des Gemeinschaftsprojekts die Realisierung und Fortsetzung dieses transatlantischen Orchesterprojektes, verbunden mit einem Konzert im Kurhaus Wiesbaden und der Welturaufführung der Auftragskomposition des Rheingau Musik Festivals an die junge kubanische Geigerin Jenny Peña Campo Field.

International
03. September 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Michael Müller

© Senatskanzlei / Martin Becker

Michael Müller wurde 1964 in Berlin geboren und besuchte nach der Mittleren Reife die Fachoberschule für Wirtschaft und Verwaltung. 1986 schloss er eine kaufmännische Lehre ab. Zusammen mit seinem Vater betrieb er danach, bis 2011, als selbstständiger Drucker eine Druckerei im Berliner Bezirk Tempelhof. Schon sehr früh, mit 17, trat Michael Müller in die SPD ein und engagierte sich in der Lokalpolitik. Von 1989 bis 1996 war er Mitglied der Bezirksverordnetenversammlung (BVV) Tempelhof, zuletzt als Fraktionsvorsitzender. Seit 1996 ist er Mitglied des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin, seit 2001 als direkt gewählter Abgeordneter für den Wahlkreis Tempelhof-Schöneberg. Von 2000 bis 2004 war er auch Kreisvorsitzender der SPD Tempelhof-Schöneberg. Von Juni 2001 bis November 2011 war Michael Müller Vorsitzender der SPD-Fraktion im Berliner Abgeordnetenhaus.  SPD-Landesvorsitzender war er von 2004 bis 2012 und ist er erneut seit 2016. Im Dezember 2011 wurde Müller Senator für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt, zugleich einer von zwei Stellvertretern des Regierenden Bürgermeisters. Im Dezember 2014 und erneut im Dezember 2016 wurde Michael Müller zum Regierenden Bürgermeister gewählt. Er ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.  

Schirmherr von Young Euro Classic
Duncan Ward

© Alan Kerr

Mit 28 Jahren kann Duncan Ward bereits auf eine erstaunliche musikalische Erfahrung zurückblicken. Mit 12 komponierte er sein erstes Musical „Alice in Wonderland“ – und führte es auch gleich mit eigenem Orchester an seiner Schule im britischen Kent auf. Bald darauf gründete er seine eigene Band „The Grasshoppers“, spielte als Stummfilmpianist, wurde Mitglied des National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain und erhielt 2005 beim BBC-Wettbewerb die Auszeichnung als „Composer of the Year“. 2012 wurde Ward als erster Dirigent Mitglied der Orchesterakademie der Berliner Philharmoniker und Assistent Simon Rattles. Mitglieder der Philharmoniker und Akademisten dirigierte er bei zahlreichen Konzerten, so mit Musik von Webern und Boulez oder auch 2013 zum 100. Geburtstag Benjamin Brittens. In dieser Saison stehen für Duncan Ward Debüts bei den Orchestern des Bayrischen Rundfunks und des MDR Leipzig, beim Wiener Radio-Symphonieorchester und beim Ensemble Intercontemporain Paris an. Das Ensemble Modern dirigiert er bei Uraufführungen von Werken Isabel Mundrys und Manfred Trojahns.

www.duncan-ward.co.uk

 Dirigent
Sophie Pacini

© Roland Breitschuh/ Warner Classics

Die 26-jährige Münchnerin Sophie Pacini gab schon mit neun Jahren ihr Konzertdebüt mit Haydns D-Dur-Konzert. Mit zehn Jahren wurde sie Schülerin von Karl-Heinz Kämmerling in Salzburg, später wechselte sie zu Pavel Gililov. Eine wichtige Förderin wurde ihr Martha Argerich, der sie überfallartig in einem italienischen Hotel vorspielte, worauf die prominente Pianistin sie 2010 zu ihrem Festival nach Lugano einlud. Beim Klavierfestival Ruhr ist Sophie Pacini ebenso aufgetreten wie beim Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus und bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. In dieser Saison ist die Tochter eines italienischen Literaturprofessors als Solistin zum Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, zur Bournemouth Symphony und zum Tonhalle Orchester Zürich eingeladen. Außerdem erschien ihre bereits vierte CD mit Werken von Beethoven und Liszt; zuvor hatte sie Solo-Alben mit Schumann, Liszt und Chopin sowie eine CD mit Klavierkonzerten von Mozart und Schumann veröffentlicht. 2015 wurde Sophie Pacini mit dem Echo-Klassik ausgezeichnet.

www.sophie-pacini.com

Klavier

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Ouvertüre zu „Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus“ op. 43 (1801)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

Konzert für Klavier Nr. 3 c-Moll op. 37 (1803)

JACQUES IBERT

„Bacchanale“ (1956)

GEORGE GERSHWIN

„Kubanische Ouvertüre“ (1932)

JENNY PEÑA CAMPO

Suite (2017) (Auftragswerk des Rheingau Musik Festivals)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Und noch eine Premiere zum Abschluss von Young Euro Classic 2017: Erstmals tritt das Cuban-European Youth Orchestra im Konzerthaus Berlin auf. Hinter dem Namen verbirgt sich ein noch ganz junges Orchester der Cuban-European Youth Academy, das europäische Talente mit jungen kubanischen Musikern zusammen auf die Bühne bringt. Und natürlich kubanisches Temperament mit europäischer Tradition verbindet – so spiegelt es sich auch im kontrastreichen Programm bei Young Euro Classic! Am Anfang steht viel Beethoven, im zweiten Teil dagegen spielt das Cuban-European Youth Orchestra das mitreißende Bacchanale des Franzosen Ibert, ein brandneues Stück der jungen kubanischen Komponistin Jenny Peña Campo (Auftragskomposition des Rheingau Musik Festivals) und von Gershwin die Kubanische Ouvertüre. Absolut hörenswert sind auch der Dirigent und die Solistin: Duncan Ward ist der Shooting Star aus England, die 26-jährige deutsche Pianistin Sophie Pacini eines der großen Klaviertalente ihrer Generation.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit am 07.09.17 ab 20:03 Uhr gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.