CLASSIC MEETS JAZZ with Nils Landgren
Sweden / Georgia
August 29, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Wolfgang Bergmann

© ZDF Carmen Sauerbrei

As ARTE coordinator at the ZDF and managing director of ARTE Germany, Wolfgang Bergmann is committed to culture on television. The chairman of the Musica Group, which consults about the music programmes of the European culture channel ARTE, is also a member of the administrative board of the German Theatre Association and the initiator and editor of numerous television productions in the fields of theatre and music, including theatre films, the ARTE Lounge, The Most Beautiful Operas of All Times and L’Epoque – Epochs of Music. He has been associated with the ZDF for more than 30 years, having started there as a freelancer during his student days. Those took place in Mainz: ethnology, journalism and German literature – a humanist and culture vulture. When the ZDF Theatre Channel was founded in 1999, Wolfgang Bergmann became its associate director, shortly thereafter its director. Ten years later, he restructured the ZDF Theatre Channel into ZDF Culture. In addition, Wolfgang Bergmann was also the founding director of the Academy of Performing Arts in Baden-Württemberg before being appointed coordinator for ARTE within the ZDF in 2012.

Patron of the Evening
Nils Landgren

© Kai Bienert | MUTESOUVENIR

Nils Landgren is doubtlessly one of Europe’s most successful jazz musicians. Fans and observers of the 61-year-old Swede are already wondering whether his days might have more than 24 hours. Critics have nominated him as the hardest working man in show business. When “Mr. Redhorn,” the man with the red trombone, is not touring with his legendary band Funk Unit or other projects bearing his name, he works as a producer and talent scout or is found passing his know-how on to his students. In the German capital, he has made a name for himself as the artistic director of the JazzFest Berlin. It is not least his versatility which is admired in this musician, who began playing drums at the age of six and discovered the trombone for himself at 13: apart from hardcore jazz, he is devoted to Swedish folk music – or he might record romantic and idiosyncratic Christmas songs, as he did on his album Christmas With My Friends. In cooperation with Doctors without Borders, Nils Landgren’s Funk Unit supports a music education project for children and teenagers in one of the largest slums of Kenya’s capital city of Nairobi. After leading the successful “Classic meets Jazz” projects at Young Euro Classic for three years running, Nils Landgren returns in 2017 for its fourth edition.

www.nilslandgren.com

Trombone, Vocals, Artistic Director
Giorgi Mikadze

Originally from Tbilisi (Georgia), the pianist Giorgi Mikadze first performed in public at the age of twelve. While still in school, he discovered his love for jazz; during his student days at the Tbilisi State Conservatory he founded his first quartet. After graduating in 2010, he received a scholarship to Berklee College in the USA; he has performed at the jazz festival there, in Montreux and at the Black Sea Jazz Festival in his homeland. He has performed with renowned colleagues such as Roy Hargrove, Dave Liebman, Lee Ritenour, Chris Potter, Matt Garrison, Tia Fuller and Patti Austin. Only recently, Mikadze released an album with Jack DeJohnette, the drummer of the Keith Jarrett Trio. During the spring of 2017 the jazz musician was a fellow at the progressive 18th Street Arts Center in Santa Monica, California. As a composer, he attempts to translate the micro-tonality of Georgian folk music into jazz in an innovative manner.

www.giorgimikadze.com

Piano, Arrangements
Lizi Ramishvili

Lizi Ramishvili, still only 20 years of age, began taking cello lessons as a child in her native city, the Georgian capital of Tbilisi. In the meantime, she has become a student of the Kronberg Academy in the Taunus, Germany, where she studies with Frans Helmerson, and since 2017 at the Haute Ecole de Musique in Geneva, Switzerland. Lizi Ramishvili already looks back on numerous performances, including a solo recital at New York’s Carnegie Hall, a concert with pianist Khatia Buniatishvili and her appearance in a Prokofiev Concerto at the Rostropovich Festival in Moscow. Invitations also took the cellist, who has held a Rostropovich Scholarship for several years, to the Augsburg Mozart Festival, the festival Energy for Life in Vienna, to Beirut and Sochi in Russia.

Cello
Ensemble Basiani Trio:
Sergo Urushadze, Paata Tsetskhladze, Zurab Tskrialashvili

The Ensemble Basiani was founded in 2000 under the patronage of the Catholic Patriarch of Georgia. In 2013 it was given the status of a State Ensemble of Georgian Vocal Folk Music. Its name refers to the city of Basiani in the former southwest of Georgia (part of modern Turkey), where an important battle in 1203 AD strengthened Georgian dominance in the region. The Ensemble Basiani draws upon the rich experience of its members, most of whom grew up with vocal music since their earliest childhood. The (male) singers have made it their mission to revive the heritage of traditional Georgian polyphony. They have been invited to renowned festivals in St. Petersburg, Aldeburgh and Kilkenny, to Amsterdam, Lisbon and to New York’s Lincoln Center. The Ensemble Basiani Trio, which appears in Berlin, consists of the upper-voice singer, Sergo Urushadze, the middle voice of Paata Tsetskhladze, and the bass Zurab Tskrialashvili – all of them members of the ensemble for many years.


Ellen Andrea Wang

© Solveig Wang

Bassist Ellen Andrea Wang (b. 1986) has distinguished herself as an inventive artist, blending genres in new and unprecedented ways.  Her music tastefully blends jazz and pop elements, balancing the lyrical with the rough, the acoustic with the electric, and creating an urban unique sound with a traditional configuration of bass, vocals, drums and piano.  Wang is also the founder of the critically acclaimed indie jazz band Pixel. She has toured with Manu Katché’s band and Marilyn Mazur and performed with Sting in 2016. She received the Kongsberg Jazz Festival’s Great Musician Award in 2015, awarded to a musician with a leading position on the Norwegian jazz scene. The Ellen Andrea Wang Trio, founded in 2013, includes some of Norway’s most talented musicians. “A commanding presence in any ensemble she plays in, her soft tone and vocal precision are always counterbalanced with heavy and assertive grooves from her double-bass, interlocking with drummers, jazz, pop and groove alike.” (The Guardian, 2016)

Double Bass
Eva Klesse

© Sally Lazic

Eva Klesse has been hailed as a “shooting star of the European Jazz scene”; one reviewer called her debut album Xenon “the dream debut of a dream band”. The musician from Werl, Germany, trained as a jazz percussionist in Leipzig, Weimar and Paris and subsequently for two years at the New York University. Although she is officially still a student at the Leipzig Academy, the 31-year-old has long formed part of various formations. Apart from the Eva Klesse Quartet, for which she composes herself, these include the Jorinde Jelen Band, the Julia Hülsmann Octet, the Quartett Trillmann and the Trio No Kissing. Her debut album Xenon quickly won the 2015 Echo Jazz in the category “Newcomer of the Year”. Her second album, Obenland, followed in 2016 to equal acclaim.

Percussion
Björn Atle Anfinsen

When Björn Atle Anfinsen was 6 years old, he heard Maynard Ferguson on CD. It made him start playing the trumpet. With parents who are classical musicians and great interest in other music such as hard rock, funk, jazz, he got a wide music taste at a young age. In 2014 Björn Atle Anfinsen received the youth scholarship of Gävle Jazzclub and was named Best Soloist at the Swedish Jazz Final in Stockholm; two years later he and his band won the Best Band Award. In 2016 he began studying with Patrik Skogh at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm. During the past year, he has had the opportunity to play with some of Sweden’s best jazz musicians, such as Magnus Lindgren, Robert Ikiz, Nils Landgren, Svante Thuresson, Lill Lindfors, Peter Asplund, and others. In spring 2017, Björn Atle Anfinsen released his first single, Långdans Från Sollerön, and the autumn will see his debut EP on Stockholm Jazz Records, with drummer Robert Ikiz. As a composer, he strives for a mix of modern jazz and the Middle East, with a touch of electronic music.

Trumpet

This year, jazz legend Nils Landgren – aka “Mr. Redhorn” – invites musicians and singers from Georgia to join him. For the fourth time, he brings young jazz musicians to Berlin, grooving with them on the Konzerthaus stage. Let yourself be surprised by the intriguing rhythms of this mix of jazz, traditional Georgian music and classical pieces! Sitting still – almost out of the question…

PROGRAMME: “Georgian Overtones”

Inspiration from other cultures: jazz, classical and traditional sounds! And all that in a unique combination. From Northern to Southern Europe, Nils Landgren has already invited young, versatile musicians to the last three editions of Young Euro Classic. This year, the journey continues – all the way to Eurasia. Georgian music traditions reaching back millennia merge with groovy rhythms and improvisation. An entirely unusual evening awaits you, as Igor Stravinsky would agree: “What the Georgians sing is more important than all new discoveries of modern music. It is incomparable and simple. I have never heard anything better!”

Broadcast

The concert will be streamed LIVE and ON DEMAND on ARTE CONCERT: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

KLASSIK MEETS JAZZ mit Nils Landgren
Schweden / Georgien
29. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Wolfgang Bergmann
Pate des Abends
Nils Landgren

© Kai Bienert | MUTESOUVENIR

Nils Landgren ist zweifellos einer der erfolgreichsten Jazzmusiker Europas. Schon jetzt rätseln die Fans und Beobachter des 61-jährigen Schweden, ob seine Tage vielleicht mehr als 24 Stunden lang sind. Kritiker haben ihm den Ehrentitel hardest working man in showbusiness verliehen. Wenn „Mr. Redhorn“, der Mann mit der roten Posaune, nicht mit seiner legendären Funk Unit oder anderen Projekten unter eigenem Namen tourt, ist er als Produzent und Talentscout tätig oder vermittelt sein Knowhow an Studenten. In der Bundeshauptstadt hat er sich als künstlerischer Leiter des JazzFest Berlin ausgezeichnet. Bewunderung erregt nicht zuletzt die Vielseitigkeit dieses Musikers, der schon mit sechs Jahren Schlagzeug zu spielen begann und mit 13 die Posaune für sich entdeckte: Neben knallhartem Jazz pflegt er die schwedische Folklore oder spielt bei Christmas With My Friends romantisch-eigenwillige Weihnachtslieder ein. In Kooperation mit Ärzte ohne Grenzen unterstützt Nils Landgrens Funk Unit ein Projekt zur musikalischen Förderung von Kindern und Jugendlichen in einem der größten Slums in Kenias Hauptstadt Nairobi. Nach der Leitung des erfolgreichen „Klassic meets Jazz“ Projekts im letzten Jahr kehrt Nils Landgren 2017 im vierten Jahr in Folge zu dessen Fortsetzung zurück.

www.nilslandgren.com

Posaune, Gesang, Künstlerische Leitung
Giorgi Mikadze

Der aus Tbilisi (Georgien) stammende Pianist Giorgi Mikadze hatte mit zwölf Jahren seinen ersten öffentlichen Aufritt. Schon als Gymnasiast entdeckte er seine Liebe zum Jazz; während des Studiums am staatlichen Konservatorium Tbilisi gründete er sein erstes Quartett. Nach seinem Abschluss 2010 erhielt er ein Stipendium für das Berklee College (USA); beim dortigen Jazz Festival spielte er ebenso wie in Montreux und beim Black Sea Jazz Festival in seiner Heimat. Er trat mit renommierten Kollegen wie Roy Hargrove, Dave Liebman, Lee Ritenour, Chris Potter, Matt Garrison, Tia Fuller oder Patti Austin auf. Erst kürzlich produzierte Mikadze ein Album mit Jack DeJohnette, dem Schlagzeuger des Keith Jarrett Trio. Im Frühjahr dieses Jahres war der Jazzer Fellow am progressiven 18th Street Arts Center in Santa Monica (Kalifornien). Als Komponist versucht er die Mikrotonalität der georgischen Volksmusik in innovativer Weise in den Jazz zu übertragen.

www.giorgimikadze.com

Klavier
Lizi Ramishvili

Die erst 20-jährige Lizi Ramishvili begann als Kind mit dem Cellounterricht in ihrer Geburtsstadt, der georgischen Hauptstadt Tbilisi. Inzwischen studiert sie an der Kronberg Academy (Taunus) bei Frans Helmerson und seit 2017 an der Musikhochschule in Genf (Schweiz). Lizi Ramishvili kann bereits auf eine Vielzahl von Auftritten zurückblicken, darunter ein Soloabend in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, ein Konzert mit der Pianistin Khatia Buniatishvili sowie das Mitwirken an einem Prokofjew-Konzert beim Rostropowitsch Festival in Moskau. Einladungen führten die Cellistin, die auch durch ein mehrjähriges Rostropowitsch-Stipendium gefördert wurde, außerdem zum Mozart-Festival Augsburg, zum Festival Energy for Life in Wien, nach Beirut und ins russische Sotschi.

Violoncello
Ensemble Basiani Trio:
Sergo Urushadze, Paata Tsetskhladze, Zurab Tskrialashvili

Das Ensemble Basiani wurde im Jahr 2000 unter der Schirmherrschaft des katholischen Patriarchen von Georgien gegründet. 2013 erhielt es den Status eines Staatlichen Ensembles für georgischen Volksgesang. Der Name geht zurück auf den Ort Basiani im einstigen Südwesten Georgiens (heute Türkei), wo 1203 eine wichtige Schlacht die Vorherrschaft Georgiens in der Region stärkte. Das Ensemble Basiani schöpft aus dem reichen Erfahrungsschatz seiner Mitglieder, die oft seit ihrer Kindheit mit Vokalmusik aufgewachsen sind. Die (männlichen) Sänger haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, das Erbe der traditionellen georgischen Polyphonie wiederzubeleben. Einladungen führten sie zu namhaften Festivals in St. Petersburg, Aldeburgh und Kilkenny, nach Amsterdam, Lissabon und ins Lincoln Center, New York. Das in Berlin zu hörende Ensemble Basiani Trio setzt sich zusammen aus dem Sänger der Oberstimme, Sergo Urushadze, dem der Mittelstimme, Paata Tsetskhladze, und dem Bass Zurab Tskrialashvili, die alle seit vielen Jahren dem Ensemble angehören.


Ellen Andrea Wang

© Solveig Wang

Die Bassistin Ellen Andrea Wang (*1986) hat sich als erfindungsreiche Künstlerin einen Namen gemacht, die auf neue und unerwartete Art versteht, Genres zu vermischen. Ihre Musik mischt Jazz- und Popelemente auf geschmackvolle Art und bringt Lyrisches und Raues zusammen, Akustik mit Elektrik, einzigartig Urbanes mit der traditionellen Aufstellung von Bass, Vocals, Drums und Piano. Wang gründete die hochgelobte Indie-Jazzband Pixel. Sie hat Tourneen mit Manu Katché und Marilyn Mazur unternommen und ist 2016 mit Sting aufgetreten. 2015 erhielt sie den „Great Musician Award“ des Kongsberg Jazz Festivals, den ein führender Musiker der norwegischen Jazzszene erhält. Das Ellen Andrea Wang Trio, das sie 2013 gründete, bringt einige der talentiertesten Musiker Norwegens zusammen. „[Wang ist] in jedem Ensemble, in dem sie auftritt, eine dominierende Gestalt; ihr sanfter Ton und vokale Präzision werden stets von den schweren und nachdrücklichen Grooves ihres Kontrabasses ausgeglichen, die sich perfekt mit Schlagzeug, Jazz, Pop und Groove verbinden.“ (The Guardian, 2016)

Kontrabass
Eva Klesse

© Sally Lazic

Als „Shooting Star der europäischen Jazz-Szene“ wurde Eva Klesse gefeiert; ihrem Debüt-Album Xenon attestierte die Presse „den Traumeinstand einer traumhaften Band“. Ihre Ausbildung als Jazzschlagzeugerin erhielt die aus Werl (NRW) stammende Musikerin zuerst in Leipzig, Weimar und Paris, dann während eines zweijährigen Studiums an der New York University. Obwohl offiziell noch in einer Meisterklasse an der Leipziger Hochschule immatrikuliert, ist die 31-Jährige längst in verschiedenen Formationen im Einsatz. Neben dem Eva Klesse Quartett, für das sie auch selbst Stücke komponiert, spielt sie in der Jorinde Jelen Band, im Julia Hülsmann Oktett, im Quartett Trillmann und im Trio No Kissing. Ihr 2014 erschienenes Debüt-Album „Xenon“ wurde umgehend mit dem Echo Jazz 2015 in der Kategorie „Newcomer des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet. 2016 folgte das ebenfalls hochgelobte zweite Album „Obenland“.

Schlagzeug
Björn Atle Anfinsen

Im Alter von 6 Jahren hörte Björn Atle Anfinsen eine CD von Maynard Ferguson, und diese brachte ihn zum Trompetenspiel. Mit Eltern, die klassische Musiker sind, und Interesse an anderen Musikgebieten wie Hard Rock, Funk und Jazz hatte er schon in jungen Jahren ein breites Spektrum musikalischer Einflüsse. 2014 erhielt Björn Atle Anfinsen das Jugendstipendium des Jazzclubs seiner Heimatstadt Gävle und wurde beim Swedish Jazz Final in Stockholm zum Besten Solisten gekürt; zwei Jahre später erhielten er und seine Band die Auszeichnung „Best Band“. 2016 nahm er seine Studien bei Patrik Skogh an der Königlichen Musikakademie Stockholm auf. Im Lauf des vergangenen Jahres hatte er die Gelegenheit, mit einigen der besten Jazzmusikern Schwedens zusammenzuarbeiten, darunter Magnus Lindgren, Robert Ikiz, Nils Landgren, Svante Thuresson, Lill Lindfors und Peter Asplund. Im Frühjahr 2017 brachte Björn Atle Anfinsen seine erste Single, Långdans Från Sollerön, heraus, und im Herbst folgt sein EP-Debüt bei Stockholm Jazz Records, zusammen mit dem Schlagzeuger Robert Ikiz. Als Komponist strebt er nach einer Mischung aus Modern Jazz und dem Nahen Osten, mit einem Hauch elektronischer Musik.

Trompete

In diesem Jahr lädt Jazzlegende Nils Landgren, alias Mr. Redhorn, Musiker und Sänger aus Georgien zu sich ein. Zum nunmehr vierten Mal bringt er junge Jazzmusiker nach Berlin, um gemeinsam mit ihnen auf der Konzerthaus-Bühne zu grooven. Lassen Sie sich überraschen von den spannenden Rhythmen dieses Mix’ aus Jazz, traditioneller georgischer Musik und Klassik! Stillhalten nahezu ausgeschlossen …

PROGRAMM: „Georgian Overtones“

Inspiration durch andere Kulturen: Jazz, Klassik und traditionelle Klänge! Und das alles in einzigartiger Verbindung. Von Nord- bis Südeuropa hat Nils Landgren bereits junge, vielseitige Musiker zu den letzten drei Ausgaben von Young Euro Classic eingeladen. In diesem Jahr geht die Reise weiter bis nach Eurasien. Jahrtausendalte georgische Musiktradition vereinigt sich mit groovigen Rhythmen und Improvisation. Ein ganz ungewöhnlicher Abend erwartet Sie, sagt auch Igor Strawinski: „Was die Georgier singen, ist wichtiger als alle Neuentdeckungen der modernen Musik. Es ist unvergleichlich und einfach. Ich habe nie etwas Besseres gehört!“

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.