Choir and Orchestra of the Elisabeth University of Music, Hiroshima

As a private Catholic college, the Elisabeth University of Music plays an outstanding role in Japan’s academic life. Founded by the Jesuit padre Ernest Goossens only shortly after the atomic bomb hit Hiroshima, it was recognized officially in 1948 as the Hiroshima School of Music. In 1963 the institution was expanded to its final form; even before, the music-loving Queen Elisabeth of Belgium had taken on its patronage. There is regular academic exchange between the Elisabeth University and its partner universities in Korea, China and Vietnam as well as with Trinity College London and the Royal Conservatory in Brussels. Its students hail from all over Asia as well as Europe and North America. The Orchestra consists of 60 musicians, all of them senior students and members of the graduating class of 2017 of the Elisabeth University. It is joined by its Choir, which numbers another 60 members.

Japan
August 26, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Gerda Meuer

Since November 2013, Gerda Meuer has been programme director oft he Deutsche Welle (DW). Thus, she is responsible for the information offered by the German foreign broadcasting station in 30 languages via television, internet and radio. Gerda Meuer began her career three decades ago as an intern at DW. Foreign postings took her to Tokyo and Brussels. As an associate editor-in-chief for the German-language programme and a long-time director of the DW Academy, she has been responsible for the Deutsche Welle’s offerings for a long time. As a programme director, Gerda Meuer sees her most important task in driving the transformation of Deutsche Welle into a digital media corporation.

 

 

Patron of the Evening
Jonathan Stockhammer

© Marco Borggreve

The American musician Jonathan Stockhammer has made an international name for himself during recent years, mainly as a conductor of contemporary opera. Right after graduating from the music academy in his hometown of Los Angeles, he moved to Germany, where he gained a broad range of experience with Ensemble Modern, MusikFabrik and Ensemble Resonanz. Among his most recent productions, performances of Peter Eötvös’ Tri sestri at the Vienna State Opera and Georg Friedrich Haas’ Koma at the Schwetzingen Festival stand out. In Berlin, Stockhammer has been heard at the festivals Ultraschall and MaerzMusik. His curiosity for other musical genres is almost boundless. Thus, the Berlin-based conductor conducted Ensemble Modern for a CD with works by Frank Zappa and worked with the Pet Shop Boys on a new film score for Eisenstein’s Battleship Potemkin. His live recording The New Crystal Silence with Chick Corea, Gary Burton and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra received a Grammy Award in 2009.

www.jonathanstockhammer.com

 Conductor
Yoshiko Kobayashi

Yoshiko Kobayashi is a graduate of the Elisabeth University of Music. She then attended the Prayner Conservatory in Austria and was a post-graduate student in the “Song and Oratorio” programme at the Vienna University of Music and Performing Arts. She won the first prize at the 10th Osaka International Music Competition and also received the grand prix at the competition Grand Final. Her opera repertoire includes the Queen of the Night (The Magic Flute), Susanna (The Marriage of Figaro) and Frasquita (Carmen). Today Yoshiko Kobayashi teaches at the Elisabeth University.

 

 

 Soprano
Miyuki Fujii

The mezzo-soprano Miyuki Fujii studied singing at the Osaka University of Arts. During her studies, she already made her debut as the Duchess in Puccini’s Suor Angelica and was subsequently heard as Carmen and Suzuki in Madama Butterfly. At the Milano Music Festival, Miyuki Fujii was the soloist in the performance of Toshio Hosokawa’s Voiceless voice in Hiroshima with the RAI National Symphony Orchestra.

 

 

 

 Mezzo-Soprano
Nina Petri

A native of Hamburg, Nina Petri is one of the most well-known faces on German television. Since she first appeared in her first Tatort (in the episode Schimanskis Waffe, one of the last featuring Götz George), numerous episodes of Tatort and innumerable series and TV films followed: most recently Sibel & Max, Soko Kitzbühel, the two-part ZDF production Tod eines Mädchens and the early evening crime series Heiter bis tödlich – Zwischen den Zeilen. Nina Petri has worked on feature movies with directors such as Doris Dörrie (Happy Birthday, Türke), Peter Lichtefeld (Zugvögel… Einmal nach Inari), Adolf Winkelmann (Junges Licht) and Tom Tykwer (Die tödliche Maria). For her supporting role in Tykwer’s movie hit Lola rennt (Run Lola Run), the actress received the German Film Prize in 1999. However, the 53-year-old also pursues many roles beyond the camera: for Hamburg’s SPD party, she has participated twice as a delegate in the election of the German President. At a benefit tournament of the football club FC St Pauli Hamburg, she was the first woman to join a VIP team for a good cause. She is also the patron of the “Klingendes Museum Hamburg”, which introduces children to musical instruments.

Narrator
Heikko Deutschmann

© M. Bothor

Heikko Deutschmann, born in Innsbruck, Austria, in 1962, is equally active on the theatre stage and television. He also works as an author and film-maker. Most recently, he appeared in Harold Pinter’s Betrayal at Berlin’s Renaissance-Theater and in Tankred Dorst’s last play, Das Blau in der Wand, at the Ruhrfestspiele and at the Düsseldorf Theatre. He began his television career in 1985; ever since, Deutschmann has appeared in many roles, making guest appearances in Tatort and Polizeiruf 110, in Ein Hausboot zum Verlieben and in the children’s series Tiere bis unters Dach, among others. Most recently, Heikko Deutschmann appeared in 2016 in the fairy-tale film Schlaraffenland and in the film version of Lindström’s Zurück ins Morgen. He has also recorded numerous audio books, ranging from classics such as Tales from 1001 Nights and Le Rouge et le Noir to novels by Martin Suter, Jörg Fauser and Frank Schätzing.

Narrator

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

“Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage” Op. 112 (1815)

FRANZ SCHUBERT

Symphony No. 7 in B-Minor D 759 “The Unfinished” (1822)

TOSHIO HOSOKAWA

“Starless Night” for Two Sopranos, Two Narrators, Choir and Orchestra (2010)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth in cinversation with composer Toshio Hosokawa at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

They will undertake the long journey from Hiroshima to Berlin to perform a very special work by their compatriot Toshio Hosokawa: the most important Japanese composer wrote his Sternlose Nacht (Starless Night) in 2010, commemorating the devastating World War II bombings of Hiroshima and Dresden, setting texts by contemporary writers. With its cast of soloists, chorus and orchestra, the reference to Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony is no coincidence – especially since the latter work enjoys cult status in Japan. Beethoven’s actual music will be featured in the first part of the concert of the Choir and Orchestra of the Elisabeth University of Music – in the form of his concert overture Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt (Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage). The programme performed by the Japanese music students is rounded out with a classic of the symphonic repertoire, Franz Schubert’s “Unfinished” Symphony.

Broadcast

The concert will be recorded by Deutschlandfunk Kultur and broadcasted nationwide – via FM, DAB +, Kabel, online and app. The date of the broadcast is August 27, 2017, 20:03-22:00.

____________________________________

The concert will be streamed LIVE and ON DEMAND on ARTE CONCERT: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Chor und Orchester der Elisabeth University of Music, Hiroshima

Die Elisabeth University of Music spielt als private katholische Hochschule eine herausragende Rolle im akademischen Lebens Japans. Gegründet nur kurze Zeit nach dem Atombombenabwurf auf Hiroshima von dem Jesuitenpater Ernest Goossens, erhielt sie 1948 ihre offizielle Anerkennung als Hiroshima School of Music. 1963 erfolgte die Erweiterung zur Hochschule in ihrer endgültigen Form; schon vorher hatte die musikliebende belgische Königin Elisabeth das Patronat übernommen. Regelmäßiger Austausch verbindet die Elisabeth University mit Partneruniversitäten in Korea, China und Vietnam wie auch mit dem Trinity College in London und dem Koninklijk Conservatorium Brüssel. Ihre Studenten kommen aus ganz Asien wie aus Europa und Nordamerika. Das Orchester besteht aus 60 Musikerinnen und Musikern aus den höheren Semestern und dem Abschlussjahrgang 2017 der Elisabeth University. Hinzu kommt ein 60 Personen umfassender Chor der Hochschule.

Japan
26. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Gerda Meuer

Seit November 2013  ist Gerda Meuer Programmdirektorin der Deutschen Welle (DW). Damit verantwortet sie das Informationsangebot des deutschen Auslandssenders für TV, Internet und Radio in 30 Sprachen. Ihre Karriere startete Gerda Meuer vor drei Jahrzehnten als Volontärin der DW. Auslandsstationen führten sie unter anderem nach Tokio und Brüssel. Als stellvertretende Chefredakteurin des deutschen Programms und als langjährige Direktorin der DW-Akademie prägte sie die Deutsche Welle maßgeblich mit. In der Programmdirektion sieht Gerda Meuer ihre wichtigste Aufgabe darin, den Wandel der Deutschen Welle in ein digitales Medienunternehmen entscheidend voranzutreiben.

 

Patin des Abends
Jonathan Stockhammer

© Marco Borggreve

Vor allem als Dirigent zeitgenössischer Opernpartituren hat sich der US-amerikanische Musiker Jonathan Stockhammer in den letzten Jahren international einen Namen gemacht. Direkt nach dem Musikstudium in seiner Heimatstadt Los Angeles kam Stockhammer nach Deutschland, wo er vielfältige Erfahrungen mit dem Ensemble Modern, der MusikFabrik und dem Ensemble Resonanz sammelte. Aus den jüngsten Produktionen ragen die Aufführungen von Peter Eötvös’ Tri sestri an der Wiener Staatsoper und von Georg Friedrich Haas’ Koma bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen hervor. In Berlin trat Stockhammer bei den Festivals Ultraschall und MaerzMusik auf. Nahezu grenzenlos ist seine Neugier auf andere Musikgenres. So dirigierte der in Berlin lebende Dirigent das Ensemble Modern für eine CD mit Werken von Frank Zappa und arbeitete mit den Pet Shop Boys für eine neue Filmmusik zu Eisensteins Panzerkreuzer Potemkin zusammen. Die Liveaufnahme The New Crystal Silence mit Chick Corea, Gary Burton und dem Sydney Symphony Orchestra erhielt 2009 einen Grammy.

www.jonathanstockhammer.com

 Dirigent
Yoshiko Kobayashi

Yoshiko Kobayashi ist Absolventin der Elisabeth University of Music. Anschließend besuchte sie das Prayner Konservatorium in Österreich und absolvierte den postgradualen Studiengang „Lied und Oratorium“ an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien. Außerdem gewann sie den ersten Preis beim 10. Osaka International Music Competition und erhielt den Grand Prix beim Grand Final. Zu ihrem Opernrepertoire zählen die Königin der Nacht (Zauberflöte), Susanna (Die Hochzeit des Figaro) und Frasquita (Carmen). Yoshiko Kobayashi lehrt heute als Dozentin an der Elisabeth University.

 

 

 Sopran
Miyuki Fujii

Die Mezzosopranistin Miyuki Fujii studierte Gesang an der Osaka University of Arts. Während ihres Studiums debütierte sie bereits als Fürstin in Puccinis Suor Angelica und war später u.a. als Carmen und Suzuki in Madama Butterfly zu erleben. Beim „Festival di Milano Musica“ war Miyuki Fujii Solistin in der Aufführung des Orchestra sinfonica nazionale della RAI mit Toshio Hosokawas Voiceless voice in Hiroshima.

 

 

 

 

 Mezzosopran
Nina Petri

Die gebürtige Hamburgerin Nina Petri zählt zu den bekanntesten Fernsehgesichtern in Deutschland. Seit sie 1990 in ihrem ersten „Tatort – Schimanskis Waffe“ (einem der letzten mit Götz George) auftrat, sind viele weitere „Tatort“-Folgen und unzählige Serien und TV-Filme gefolgt: zuletzt „Sibel & Max“, „Soko Kitzbühel“, der ZDF-Zweiteiler „Tod eines Mädchens“ und die Vorabend-Krimiserie „Heiter bis tödlich – Zwischen den Zeilen“. Am Filmset arbeite Nina Petri mit Regisseuren wie Doris Dörrie („Happy Birthday, Türke“), Peter Lichtefeld („Zugvögel… Einmal nach Inari“), Adolf Winkelmann („Junges Licht“) und Tom Tykwer („Die tödliche Maria“) zusammen. Für ihre Nebenrolle in Tykwers Kino-Hit „Lola rennt“ erhielt die Schauspielerin 1999 den Deutschen Filmpreis. Doch auch abseits der Kamera ist die 53-Jährige vielseitig aktiv: Für die SPD Hamburg nahm sie zweimal als Delegierte an der Bundespräsidentenwahl teil. Und in einem Wohltätigkeitsturnier des FC St. Pauli Hamburg kickte sie als erste Frau in einer Prominentenelf mit. Außerdem ist sie Schirmherrin des Klingenden Museums Hamburg.

Sprecherin
Heikko Deutschmann

© M. Bothor

Heikko Deutschmann, geboren 1962 in Innsbruck, ist als Schauspieler gleichermaßen auf den Theaterbühnen, im TV und Kino aktiv.  Außerdem arbeitet er als Autor und Filmemacher. Zuletzt war er in Harold Pinters Betrogen im Berliner Renaissance-Theater und mit Tankred Dorsts letztem Stück Das Blau in der Wand bei den Ruhrfestspielen und am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus zu erleben. Im Fernsehen startete er 1985 seine Karriere; seitdem war Deutschmann in vielerlei Rollen zu sehen, mit Gastauftritten in Tatort und Polizeiruf 110, in Ein Hausboot zum Verlieben oder in der Kinderserie Tiere bis unters Dach. Zuletzt wirkte Heikko Deutschmann 2016 in der Märchenverfilmung Schlaraffenland sowie der Lindström-Verfilmung Zurück ins Morgen mit. Groß ist auch die Zahl der von ihm gesprochenen Hörbücher, die von Klassikern wie Geschichten aus 1001 Nacht und Rot und Schwarz bis zu Romanen von Martin Suter, Jörg Fauser und Frank Schätzing reichen.

Sprecher

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN

„Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt“ op. 112 (1815)

FRANZ SCHUBERT

Symphonie Nr. 7 h-Moll D 759 „Die Unvollendete“ (1822)

TOSHIO HOSOKAWA

„Sternlose Nacht“ für zwei Soprane, zwei Sprecher, Chor und Orchester (2010)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dieter Rexroth im Gespräch mit Komponist Toshio Hosokawa im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Sie machen den weiten Weg aus Hiroshima nach Berlin, um ein ganz besonderes Werk ihres Landsmanns Toshio Hosokawa aufzuführen: Der bedeutendste japanische Komponist schrieb Sternlose Nacht 2010 in Erinnerung an die verheerenden Bombenabwürfe im Zweiten Weltkrieg auf Hiroshima und Dresden und verwendete dabei Texte von Zeitzeugen. Außerdem nahm er mit Solisten, Chor und Orchester nicht zufällig Bezug auf Beethovens Neunte, die ja gerade in Japan Kultstatus genießt. Beethoven selbst ist im ersten Teil beim Konzert mit dem Chor und Orchester der Elisabeth University of Music zu erleben – mit seiner Konzertouvertüre Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt. Abgerundet wird das Programm der japanischen Musikstudenten mit einem Klassiker des symphonisches Repertoires, der „Unvollendeten“ von Franz Schubert.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird von Deutschlandfunk Kultur aufgezeichnet und bundesweit am 27.08.17 ab 20:03 Uhr gesendet – über UKW, DAB+, Kabel, online und app.

____________________________________

Dieses Konzert wird LIVE und ON DEMAND auf ARTE CONCERT gestreamt: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.