National Youth Ballet of Germany

© Silvano Ballone

Founded at the initiative of Prof. John Neumeier, the National Youth Ballet is unique throughout Germany. Eight young professional dancers aged 18 to 23 form the young company, which is supported by federal funds and wishes to bring ballet closer to people’s daily lives again. Therefore, the ensemble appears not only at opera houses, concert halls and theatres, but also in schools, senior citizens’ homes, clubs and even prisons. The National Youth Ballet honours the past by studying works from the history of ballet, experiences the present by working with contemporary choreographers of different ages and styles, and invests in the future of dance by commissioning its own works and supporting talented young choreographers. The dancers come from all over the world. Their home is the Hamburg Ballet Centre – John Neumeier; their language is dance. Since its Young Euro Classic debut in 2012, the dancers perform together with young musicians for the sixth time at Young Euro Classic in 2017.

Dancers of the 2016/2017 Season:

Sarah Ezzell, Charlotte Larzerele, Larissa Machado, Teresa Silva Dias, Kristian Lever, Tilman Patzak, Joel Paulin, Ricardo Urbina Reyes

www.bundesjugendballett.de

International
August 19, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus Berlin

John Neumeier
© Kiran West

© Kiran West

The US-American John Neumeier is among the most important choreographers of our times. As Ballet Director and Artistic Director of the Hamburg Ballet, he turned this company into one of Germany’s leading ones. John Neumeier won international acclaim for his combination of traditional ballet with new, contemporary forms. One of John Neumeier’s passions is the support and education of young talent. In 1978, he founded the Ballet School of the Hamburg Ballet. In 2011, John Neumeier took on the position of Artistic Director of the newly-founded National Youth Ballet. John Neumeier has been awarded the German Federal Cross of Merit twice and was named a Chevalier of the Legion of Honor in 2003. He already choreographed a ballet for Young Euro Classic in 2012, and in 2013 and 2014 the National Youth Ballet appeared at the Konzerthaus in two of his choreographies as well.

www.johnneumeier.org 

Director of the National Youth Ballet, Choreographer
Kevin Haigen

© Yohan Stegli

Born in Miami, Kevin Haigen has worked as a dancer, choreographer, ballet teacher and ballet master. He trained at the School of American Ballet under George Balanchine, where he created his first choreographies. In 1976 Kevin Haigen joined the Hamburg Ballet, where he returned in 1991, after several international engagements, as company ballet master and ballet teacher. Ever since, he has assisted John Neumeier in the production of numerous ballets worldwide. Since the founding of the National Youth Ballet, Kevin Haigen has been its Artistic and Pedagogical Director.

Artistic and Pedagogical Director

John's Dream

Choreography and lyrics: Bundesjugendballett, John Neumeier, Maša Kolar, Bundesjugendballett
Music: based on Leonard Cohen (Halleluja); Ludwig van Beethoven, String Quartet No. 13 D Major Op. 130; Carlos Gardel, Melodía de arrabal (Arr.: James McFadden-Talbot); Beatbox: Anton »The Kid« Stender

Transition – Alan Watts – What do you desire?

Choreography: Ricardo Urbina Reyes
Music: Oliver Messiaen, Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus
Hans Zimmer, Time

Totilas – The Ride

Choreography: Paul Hess
Music: TV-recording with music of Paul van Dyk, commentary by Carsten Sostmeier

Muted

Choreography: Sasha Riva (excerpts)
Music: Peteris Vasks, Quartett - III. Canti Dramatici and V. Canto Principale

"Verklärte Nacht"

Choreography: Wubkje Kuindersma
Music: Arnold Schönberg

PROGRAMME

Classical and contemporary music, improvisation and beatboxing: the National Youth Ballet shows works by its Artistic and Executive Director John Neumeier and its Artistic Director Kevin Haigen, as well as “Verklärte Nacht”, choreographed by Wubkje Kuindersma.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Bundesjugendballett

© Silvano Ballone

Das auf Initiative von Prof. John Neumeier gegründete Bundesjugendballett ist in seiner Form in Deutschland einzigartig. Acht professionelle Tänzerinnen und Tänzer zwischen 18 und 23 Jahren tanzen zusammen in der vom Bund geförderten jungen Compagnie, die Ballett wieder näher zu den Menschen bringen möchte. Das Ensemble tanzt daher nicht nur in Opernhäusern, Konzertsälen und Theatern, sondern auch in Schulen, Seniorenresidenzen, Clubs und sogar Gefängnissen. Das Bundesjugendballett ehrt die Vergangenheit mit der Einstudierung von Werken der Ballettgeschichte, erlebt die Gegenwart in der Arbeit mit zeitgenössischen Choreografen unterschiedlichen Alters und Stils und investiert in die Zukunft des Tanzes durch eigene Kreationen und die Förderung junger Choreografie-Talente. Die Tänzerinnen und Tänzer kommen aus der ganzen Welt. Ihre Heimat ist das Ballettzentrum Hamburg – John Neumeier, ihre Sprache ist der Tanz. Seit ihrem Young Euro Classic Debüt 2012 treten die Tänzer gemeinsam mit jungen Musikern 2017 zum sechsten Mal bei Young Euro Classic auf.

Tänzerinnen und Tänzer in der Spielzeit 2016/2017:

Sarah Ezzell, Charlotte Larzerele, Larissa Machado, Teresa Silva Dias, Kristian Lever, Tilman Patzak, Joel Paulin, Ricardo Urbina Reyes

www.bundesjugendballett.de

International
19. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus Berlin

John Neumeier
© Kiran West

© Kiran West

Der US-Amerikaner John Neumeier zählt zu den bedeutendsten Choreografen der Gegenwart. In seiner Tätigkeit als Ballettdirektor und -intendant machte er das Hamburg Ballett zu einer der führenden deutschen Ballettcompagnien. Internationale Anerkennung erwarb sich John Neumeier durch die Zusammenführung der Ballett-Tradition mit neuen, zeitgenössischen Formen. Mit großem Engagement widmet sich John Neumeier der Nachwuchsförderung. 1978 gründete er die Ballettschule des Hamburg Ballett. 2011 übernahm John Neumeier die Position des Intendanten im neu gegründeten Bundesjugendballett. John Neumeier ist zweifacher Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes und seit 2003 Ritter der Ehrenlegion. Für Young Euro Classic choreografierte er bereits 2012 ein eigenes Ballett, und auch 2013 und 2014 stand das Bundesjugendballett in zwei seiner Choreografien auf der Bühne des Konzerthauses.

www.johnneumeier.org 

Intendant & Choreograf
Kevin Haigen
© Yohan Stegli

© Yohan Stegli

Geboren in Miami, hat Kevin Haigen als Tänzer, Choreograf, Ballettpädagoge und Ballettmeister gearbeitet. Er erhielt seine Ausbildung u.a. an der School of American Ballet unter der Leitung von George Balanchine, wo er seine ersten Choreografien kreierte. 1976 trat Kevin Haigen dem Hamburg Ballett bei, an das er 1991, nach mehreren internationalen Engagements, als Ballettmeister der Compagnie und Ballettpädagoge zurückkehrte. Seither assistiert er John Neumeier bei der Inszenierung zahlreicher seiner Ballette weltweit. Seit der Gründung des Bundesjugendballetts ist Kevin Haigen dessen Künstlerischer und Pädagogischer Leiter.

Künstlerischer und Pädagogischer Leiter

John's Dream

Choreografie und Text: Bundesjugendballett, John Neumeier, Maša Kolar, Bundesjugendballett
Musik: frei nach Leonard Cohen (Halleluja); Ludwig van Beethoven, Streichquartett Nr. 13 D-Dur op. 130; Carlos Gardel, Melodía de arrabal (Arr.: James McFadden-Talbot); Beatbox: Anton »The Kid« Stender

Überleitung – Alan Watts – What do you desire?

Choreografie: Ricardo Urbina Reyes

Thaïs

Choreografie: Kevin Haigen
Musik: Jules Massenet, Meditation aus Thaïs (Oper)

Totilas – Der Ritt

Choreografie: Paul Hess
Musik: TV-Mitschnitt mit Musik von Paul van Dyk, Kommentar von Carsten Sostmeier

Muted

Choreografie: Sasha Riva (Auszüge)
Musik: Peteris Vasks, Quartett - III. Canti Dramatici und V. Canto Principale

Verklärte Nacht

Choreografie: Wubkje Kuindersma
Musik: Arnold Schönberg

PROGRAMM

Klassik, zeitgenössische Musik, Improvisationen und Beatboxing: Das Bundesjugendballett zeigt neben Werken des Intendanten John Neumeier und des künstlerischen Leiters Kevin Haigen u.a. auch „Verklärte Nacht“, choreographiert von Wubkje Kuindersma.

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.