Baltic Sea Philharmonic

© Peter Adamik

Originally founded as the “Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic”, the Baltic Sea Philharmonic has won many fans since 2008 with its spirited performances and diverse programmes – not only at Young Euro Classic. The members of the Baltic Sea Philharmonic are still from the ten countries of the Baltic Sea region, from the Scandinavian to the Baltic States to Russia, Poland and Germany. This community of musicians from all over the Baltic Sea Region has the goal of bringing people together and overcoming geographical and historical borders; they are led by the vision to maintain and renew the cultural treasures of this region, for example by commissioning new works. Kristjan Järvi is the artistic director of both ensembles. This year’s programme, Waterworks, takes the Baltic Sea Philharmonic not only to Young Euro Classic, but also to Hamburg’s new Elbphilharmonie and to the Danish cultural capital of Aarhus.

baltic-sea-philharmonic.eu

Denmark | Estonia | Finland | Germany | Latvia | Lithuania | Norway | Poland | Russia | Sweden
August 25, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Nordmann

© Katja Renner

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Nordmann, born in Kiel in 1971, studied musicology and modern history first at the Ruprecht Karls University Heidelberg, then at Berlin’s Free University and Technical University. Right after his Master’s degree, he wrote his doctoral thesis under the auspices of Prof. Dr. Christian Martin Schmidt on The Influence of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival on the Musical Landscape of Schleswig-Holstein. While still a student, Sebastian Nordmann gathered practical experience in the cultural sector, working at the Edinburgh Festival, the Culture Department of Bayer AG, as orchestra manager of the Schleswig-Holstein State Youth Orchestra and assistant to the Intendant (Artistic Director) of the Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. After completing his doctorate, he worked for the strategic consultancy The Boston Consulting Group in Berlin for two years. From October 2002 to December 2008 he was Intendant and managing director of the Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. From 2008 to 2013 he taught music management / career planning as a professor at the Rostock Academy of Music and Theatre, focusing on the development of self-initiative, creativity, self-assessment and entrepreneurial thought. Since September 2009 Sebastian Nordmann has been Intendant of the Konzerthaus Berlin and the Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin.

Patron of the Evening
Kristjan Järvi

© Franck Ferville

The conductor Kristjan Järvi is one of the rather rare types of musician who are able to move between different genres with the ease of a virtuoso. Whether classical, jazz or hip hop: not least in conjunction with his various ensembles, the 45-year-old pursues a broad range of musical inclinations. Since 2012 he has been chief conductor of the MDR Symphony Orchestra in Leipzig; he also continues to lead the Absolute Ensemble in New York, which he founded. Born in the USA as the youngest son of the Estonian conductor Neeme Järvi, the conductor is tireless in his championship of contemporary music. He has commissioned more than 100 works, including from composers such as Arvo Pärt, Tan Dun and Erkki-Sven Tüür. Steve Reich and HK Gruber are among his artistic partners, as are Anoushka Shankar, Hauschka and Marcel Khalife. So far, Kristjan Järvi has released more than 60 albums, ranging from film scores for Cloud Atlas, A Hologram for the King and Sense 8 to the eponymous series The Kristjan Järvi Sound Project.

www.kristjanjarvi.com

 Conductor
Mikhail Simonyan

© Mathias Botor_DG

His first CD featuring violin concerti by Khachaturian and Barber, released in 2011, bore the telling title Two Souls. Indeed, there are two souls within the 32-year-old violinist Mikhail Simonyan. Born in Novosibirsk as the son of Armenian-Russian parents, he immigrated to the USA early in life, where he made his debut at New York’s Carnegie Hall at the age of 15. His teacher at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia was the Russian Victor Dansherenko, who had worked directly with Prokofiev, Shostakovich and Khachaturian as a young man. Since 2013 Simonyan has added the position of artistic director of the newly founded Kaluga Youth Symphony Orchestra in Moscow and president of the Open Sea Foundation to his concert engagements. The Open Sea Foundation supports more than a dozen musical projects, mainly in Russia, including concert performances of the operas Eugene Onegin and Carmen in Russia and Lithuania during recent years.

 Violin

GENE PRITSKER

“Water Possessed Afresh” (2017)

GEORG FRIEDRICH HÄNDEL

“Water Music” (1717)

CHARLES COLEMAN

“Drenched” (2014)

PHILIP GLASS

Concerto for Violin No. 2 “The American Four Seasons” (2009)

PHILIP GLASS

“Aguas da Amazonia” (1993, arr. Charles Coleman)

-
A PARTY FOR EVERYONE

We´re celebrating. Celebrate with us! At the traditional AUDIENCE PARTY after the concert.

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Anne Kussmaul at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME: “Waterworks”

Baltic Sea meets Amazon: the musicians of the Baltic Sea Philharmonic come from all the countries neighbouring the Baltic Sea, and this year the orchestra’s summer project is entitled Waterworks. Of course, any music lover immediately associates Handel’s Water Music – the Baltic Sea Philharmonic performs the popular piece alongside new works with such programmatic titles as Drenched by Charles Coleman and Water Possessed Afresh by Gene Pritsker. However, the Berlin concert will also feature the waves found in South American jungles. The American composer Philip Glass, a pioneer of minimal music, derived the music of his ballet score Aguas da Amazonia from the multi-faceted sounds and rhythms of the Amazon and its tributaries. Once again, the audience may look forward to a newly instrumented version for large symphony orchestra, performed by Kristjan Järvi and his Baltic Sea Philharmonic.

Broadcast

The concert will be streamed LIVE and ON DEMAND on ARTE CONCERT: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Baltic Sea Philharmonic

© Peter Adamik

Als „Baltic Sea Youth Philharmonic“ gegründet, sorgt das Baltic Sea Philharmonic seit 2008 mit seinen temperamentvollen Auftritten und abwechslungsreichen Programmen – nicht nur bei Young Euro Classic – für Furore. Nach wie vor kommen die Mitglieder des Baltic Sea Philharmonic aus den zehn Ländern des Ostseeraums, von den skandinavischen über die baltischen Staaten bis zu Russland, Polen und Deutschland. Diese Gemeinschaft von Musikern des Ostseeraums hat das Ziel, Menschen zusammenzubringen und geographische wie historische Grenzen zu überwinden; geleitet werden sie von der Vision, die kulturellen Schätze dieser Region zu bewahren und zu erneuern, so durch Auftragskompositionen. Künstlerischer Leiter beider Ensembles ist Kristjan Järvi. Das diesjährige Programm „Waterworks“ führt das Baltic Sea Philharmonic außer zu Young Euro Classic u. a. auch in die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg und in die dänische Kulturhauptstadt Aarhus.

baltic-sea-philharmonic.eu

Dänemark | Deutschland | Estland | Finnland | Lettland | Litauen | Norwegen | Polen | Russland | Schweden
25. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Nordmann

© Katja Renner

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Nordmann, geboren 1971 in Kiel, studierte Musikwissenschaften und Neuere Geschichte, zunächst an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, später dann an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin. Im direkten Anschluss an seinen Magister promovierte er bei Prof. Dr. Christian Martin Schmidt über das Thema „Der Einfluss des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festivals auf die Musiklandschaft Schleswig-Holstein“. Während seines Studiums sammelte Sebastian Nordmann praktische Erfahrungen im Kulturbereich beim Edinburgh Festival, der Kulturabteilung der Bayer AG, als Orchestermanager des Landesjugendorchesters Schleswig-Holstein und als Intendanzassistent bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg- Vorpommern. Im Anschluss an die Promotion arbeitete er für zwei Jahre bei der strategischen Unternehmensberatung The Boston Consulting Group in Berlin. Von Oktober 2002 bis Dezember 2008 war er Intendant und Geschäftsführer der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Von 2008 bis 2013 unterrichtete er als Professor das Fach Musikmanagement / Karriereplanung an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock. In dem Fach geht es um die Entwicklung von Eigeninitiative, Kreativität, Selbsteinschätzung und unternehmerischem Denken der Studenten. Seit September 2009 ist Sebastian Nordmann Intendant des Konzerthauses Berlin und des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin.

Pate des Abends
Kristjan Järvi

© Franck Ferville

Der Dirigent Kristjan Järvi gehört zu jenem eher raren Typus Musiker, die sich virtuos zwischen verschiedenen Genres hin und her bewegen. Ob Klassik, Jazz oder Hip Hop: Nicht zuletzt mit seinen verschiedenen Ensembles pflegt der 45-Jährige seine weitgefächerten Neigungen. Seit 2012 ist er Chefdirigent des MDR Sinfonieorchesters in Leipzig; zugleich leitet er nach wie vor das von ihm gegründete New York Absolute Ensemble. Geboren in den USA als jüngster Sohn des estnischen Dirigenten Neeme Järvi, ist der Dirigent unermüdlich im Einsatz für die zeitgenössische Musik. Er gab über 100 Werke in Auftrag, darunter an Komponisten wie Arvo Pärt, Tan Dun und Erkki-Sven Tüür. Steve Reich und HK Gruber zählen genauso zu seinen künstlerischen Partnern wie Anoushka Shankar, Hauschka und Marcel Khalife. Bisher veröffentlichte Kristjan Järvi mehr als 60 Alben, die von Filmmusik wie „Cloud Atlas“, „Hologram for the King“, „Sense 8“ bis hin zu seiner gleichnamigen Serie „Kristjan Järvi Sound Project“ reichen.

www.kristjanjarvi.com

Dirigent
Mikhail Simonyan

© Mathias Botor_DG

Seine erste CD mit Violinkonzerten von Chatschaturjan und Barber, 2011 erschienen, trug bezeichnenderweise den Titel „Two Souls“. Zwei Seelen schlagen in der Tat in der Brust des 32-jährigen Geigers Mikhail Simonyan. Geboren in Nowosibirsk als Sohn armenisch-russischer Eltern, kam er schon früh in die USA, wo er als 15-Jähriger in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall debütierte. Sein Lehrer am Curtis Institut in Philadelphia war der Russe Victor Dansherenko, der noch direkt mit Prokofjew, Schostakowitsch und Chatschaturjan zusammengearbeitet hatte. Seit 2013 engagiert sich Simonyan neben seiner Konzerttätigkeit zusätzlich als Künstlerischer Leiter des neugegründeten Kaluga Youth Symphony Orchestra in Moskau sowie als Präsident der Open Sea Foundation. Diese Stiftung hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, mehr als ein Dutzend musikalische Projekte vor allem in Russland zu unterstützen, so in den letzten Jahren konzertante Aufführungen der Opern Jewgeni Onegin und Carmen in Russland und Litauen.

 Violine

GENE PRITSKER

„Water Possessed Afresh“ (2017)

GEORG FRIEDRICH HÄNDEL

Wassermusik (1717)

CHARLES COLEMAN

„Drenched“ (2014)

PHILIP GLASS

Konzert für Violine Nr. 2 „The American Four Seasons“ (2009)

PHILIP GLASS

„Aguas da Amazonia“ (2016, arr. Charles Coleman)

-
FEST FÜR ALLE

Feiern Sie mit uns! Beim traditionellen PUBLIKUMSFEST im Anschluss an das Konzert.

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM: „Waterworks“

Ostsee meets Amazonas: Aus allen Anrainerstaaten der Ostsee kommen die Musiker des Baltic Sea Philharmonic, und ihr diesjähriges Sommerprojekt haben sie unter den Titel Waterworks gestellt. Selbstverständlich fällt jedem Musikfreund dabei als erstes Händels Wassermusik ein – das Baltic Sea Philharmonic spielt das populäre Stück neben neuen Werken mit thematisch passenden Titeln wie Drenched (Durchnässt) von Charles Coleman und Water Possessed Afresh (Wieder vom Wasser Besessen oder auch Neu Besetztes Wasser) von Gene Pritsker. Doch beim Konzert in Berlin rauschen auch die Wellen im südamerikanischen Dschungel. Der US-Amerikaner Philip Glass, Pionier der Minimal Music, hat die Musik für seine Ballettkomposition Aguas da Amazonia den vielstimmigen Klängen und Rhythmen des Amazonas und seiner Nebenflüsse abgelauscht. Und auch hier darf sich das Publikum auf eine neuinstrumentierte Version für großes sinfonisches Orchester freuen, die Kristjan Järvi und sein Baltic Sea Philharmonic mitbringen.

Mitschnitt

Dieses Konzert wird LIVE und ON DEMAND auf ARTE CONCERT gestreamt: concert.arte.tv/young-euro-classic

Bildergalerie

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.