National Youth Philharmonic of Turkey

© Enes Haraççıoğlu

Since its founding in 2007, the National Youth Philharmonic of Turkey has considered itself a “laboratory of democracy”, focusing not only on intensive musical work, but also on the principles of coexistence, leadership, self-respect and responsibility. Workshops and seminars play an important role in imparting these goals – thus also in 2014, when the orchestra visited the banks of the River Spree on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the city partnership between Istanbul and Berlin. Apart from its own appearances at Young Euro Classic – most recently in 2015 – two binational projects also found a broad resonance: the Young Euro Classic Festival Orchestra Turkey-Germany in 2011 and the Armenian-Turkish Youth Orchestra in 2012. During recent years, the musicians aged 16 to 22 have appeared successfully at Vienna’s Konzerthaus, at the Auditorio in Rome, in Brussels, at the Brucknerfest in Linz and the Beethovenfest in Bonn. In 2013 the orchestra played during the festivities for the 400-year anniversary of diplomatic relations between the Netherlands and Turkey in Amsterdam and Den Haag, in the presence of Queen Beatrix.

www.genclikfilarmoni.org

Turkey
August 28, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Cem Mansur

© Mehmet Çağlarer

The personal and artistic biography of Cem Mansur could hardly be more cosmopolitan: the British and Turkish citizen was born in Istanbul in 1957 into a multi-national and multi-lingual family. He studied first in London and then with Leonard Bernstein at the Los Angeles Philharmonic Institute. As the conductor of the Istanbul State Opera from 1981 to 1989 he acquired an impressive opera repertoire. The successful performance of Edward Elgar’s unfinished opera The Spanish Lady in London in 1986 was followed by internationally renowned orchestras and opera houses in Europe and the USA as well as Israel and South Africa. In 2009 Mansur conducted the European premiere of Arvo Pärt’s Symphony No. 4 in Helsinki, followed by the world premiere of his composition Veni Creator in Poland in 2010. As chief conductor of the National Youth Philharmonic of Turkey he has conducted guest appearances at Young Euro Classic and led several bi-national projects, including the Young Euro Classic Festival Orchestra Turkey-Germany and the Armenian-Turkish Youth Orchestra. From 1998 to 2011 he was also chief conductor and artistic director of the Akbank Chamber Orchestra.

 Conductor
Hande Küden

© Peter Adamik

The Turkish violinist Hande Küden is a product of the National Youth Philharmonic of Turkey, where she was concertmaster from 2008 to 2012. She was born in Adana, Turkey, in 1992 and studied first at the State Conservatory of the University of Cukurova before taking up studies with Stephan Picard at the Music Academy “Hanns Eisler” in Berlin. Hande Küden won several prizes and scholarships in Turkey and in Berlin; her first performances as a soloist also took place with Turkish orchestras in her homeland and in Germany. The Ferenc Fricsay Scholarship of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin was particularly influential for her career: the violinist has been the DSO’s second concertmaster since 2016.

 

 Violin

RICHARD STRAUSS

"Don Juan“ Op. 20 (1888)

PIOTR I. TCHAIKOVSKY

Concerto for Violin in D-Major Op. 35 (1878)

ALI EKBER ÇIÇEK/ ALI ÖZKAN MANAV

"Haydar Haydar“ (2015, German Premiere)

ALEXANDER BORODIN

Symphonic Poem “A Sketch of the Steppes” (1880)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Symphonic Variations Op. 78 (1877)

4.15 – 5.15 pm - Public moderated rehearsal at the Main Hall – part of the series
“Democracy Lab” of the National Youth Philharmonic of Turkey.
Free admission

6.30 – 7.30 pm - Panel discussion: “Musical and cultural identity in times of controversy”
With Cem Mansur, the composer Sinem Altan and Dr. Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal.
Free admission for ticket holders

PROGRAMME

Brilliance and passion have always been characteristics with which the National Youth Philharmonic of Turkey has cast its spell on the Young Euro Classic audience. Brilliance and passion can also be expected of the programme the young Turkish musicians are bringing to Berlin this summer – their fourth visit since the orchestra’s founding in 2007. The opening with Richard Strauss’ seductive Don Juan is likely to set the tone, followed by Piotr Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, a highlight of the romantic violin repertoire in which Hande Küden, the former concertmaster of the orchestra who is one of the DSO’s concertmasters today, can show off the full breadth of her talent. The other two compositions offer wonderful atmospheric portraits: Borodin’s In the Steppes of Central Asia and the Symphonic Variations by the Bohemian composer Antonín Dvořák. Of course a Turkish piece is a must: the Istanbul-based composer Ali Özkan Manav has arranged the extremely popular song Haydar Haydar by Ali Ekber Çiçek for modern orchestra.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Nationale Jugendphilharmonie der Türkei

© Enes Haraççıoğlu

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2007 versteht sich die Nationale Jugendphilharmonie der Türkei als „Laboratorium der Demokratie“, wo über die intensive musikalische Arbeit hinaus die Prinzipien von Koexistenz, Leadership, Selbstrespekt und Verantwortung verwirklicht werden.  Workshops und Seminare nehmen dabei eine wichtige Rolle ein – so auch 2014, als das Orchester zum 25-jährigen Bestehen der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Istanbul und Berlin zu Gast an der Spree war. Neben den eigenen Festivalauftritten bei Young Euro Classic – zuletzt 2015 – fanden auch zwei binationale Projekte große Resonanz, so 2011 das Young Euro Classic Festivalorchester Türkei – Deutschland und 2012 das Armenisch-Türkische Jugendorchester. In den letzten Jahren gastierten die Musiker im Alter zwischen 16 und 22 Jahren mit großem Erfolg im Konzerthaus Wien, im Auditorium in Rom, in Brüssel, beim Brucknerfest in Linz und beim Beethovenfest in Bonn. 2013 spielte das Orchester zur 400-Jahr-Feier der Aufnahme diplomatischer Beziehungen zwischen den Niederlanden und der Türkei in Anwesenheit von Königin Beatrix Konzerte in Amsterdam und Den Haag.  

www.genclikfilarmoni.org

Türkei
28. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Cem Mansur

© Mehmet Çağlarer

Die persönliche und künstlerische Biographie von Cem Mansur könnte kosmopolitischer nicht sein: Der englisch-türkische Doppelbürger kam 1957 in Istanbul, in einer multi-nationalen und vielsprachigen Familie zur Welt. Er studierte in London und anschließend am Los Angeles Philharmonic Institute bei Leonard Bernstein. Nach der erfolgreichen Aufführung von Edward Elgars unvollendeter Oper The Spanish Lady 1986 in London folgten Engagements bei international bedeutenden Orchestern und Opernhäusern, in Europa und den USA wie auch in Israel und Südafrika. 2009 leitete Mansur die Europäische Erstaufführung von Arvo Pärts vierter Symphonie in Helsinki, 2010 die Uraufführung von dessen Komposition Veni Creator in Polen. Als Chefdirigent der Nationalen Jugendphilharmonie der Türkei dirigierte er Gastspiele bei Young Euro Classic und leitete mehrere binationale Projekte, u.a. das Young Euro Classic Festivalorchester Türkei – Deutschland und das Armenisch-Türkische Jugendorchester. 1998-2011 war er außerdem Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Akbank Chamber Orchestra.

 Dirigent
Hande Küden

© Peter Adamik

Die türkische Geigerin Hande Küden stammt direkt aus der Nationalen Jugendphilharmonie der Türkei, in der sie 2008-2012 Konzertmeisterin war. Geboren 1992 in Adana (Türkei), studierte sie zuerst am Staatskonservatorium der Universität Cukurova, bevor sie zu Stephan Picard an die Musikhochschule „Hanns Eisler“ in Berlin kam. Mit Preisen und Stipendien wurde Hande Küden mehrfach in der Türkei wie in Deutschland ausgezeichnet, auch ihre ersten solistischen Auftritte hatte sie mit türkischen Orchestern in ihrer Heimat wie in Deutschland. Besonders folgenreich war für sie das Ferenc-Fricsay-Stipendium des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin:  Dort ist die Geigerin seit 2016 als Stellvertretende Konzertmeisterin unter Vertrag.

 Violine

RICHARD STRAUSS

„Don Juan“ op. 20 (1888)

PIOTR I. TSCHAIKOWSKI

Konzert für Violine D-Dur op. 35 (1878)

ALI EKBER ÇIÇEK/ ALI ÖZKAN MANAV

„Haydar Haydar“ (2015, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

ALEXANDER BORODIN

„Eine Steppenskizze aus Mittelasien“ (1880)

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK

Symphonische Variationen op. 78 (1877)

16:15-17:15 Uhr - Öffentliche moderierte Generalprobe im Großen Saal
Im Rahmen der Serie „Demokratielabor“ der Nationalen Jugendphilharmonie der Türkei.
Eintritt frei

18:30-19:30 Uhr - Diskussion: „Musikalische und kulturelle Identität in streitbaren Zeiten“
Mit Cem Mansur, der Komponistin Sinem Altan und Dr. Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal.
Einlass mit Konzertticket

PROGRAMM

Brillanz und Leidenschaft sind seit eh und je die Eigenschaften, mit denen die Nationale Jugendphilharmonie der Türkei das Publikum bei Young Euro Classic in seinen Bann zieht. Brillanz und Leidenschaft lässt auch das Programm erwarten, mit dem die türkischen Musikerinnen und Musiker diesmal nach Berlin kommen – zum vierten Mal seit der Orchestergründung 2007. Schon der Einstieg mit Richard Strauss’ verführerischem Don Juan dürfte für Stimmung sorgen; danach folgte mit Piotr Tschaikowskis Violinkonzert ein Highlight des romantischen Violinrepertoires, in dem Hande Küden, die frühere Konzertmeisterin des Orchesters und heutige Konzertmeister in des DSO, ihr ganzes Können vorführen kann. Wunderbare Stimmungsbilder sind dagegen die beiden anderen Kompositionen: Borodins Steppenskizze aus Mittelasien und die Symphonischen Variationen des Böhmen Antonín Dvořák. Und auch ein türkisches Werk darf nicht fehlen: Der in Istanbul lehrende Komponist Ali Özkan Manav hat das äußerst populäre Stück Haydar Haydar von Ali Ekber Çiçek für moderndes Orchester bearbeitet.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.