Asian Youth Orchestra

One of its founders in 1990 was the legendary violinist Yehudi Menuhin; ever since, the Asian Youth Orchestra (AYO) has given almost 400 concerts throughout the world, demonstrating its extraordinary abilities. The AYO was the first foreign orchestra ever to perform in Vietnam. The 110 musicians of the Asian Youth Orchestra come from approximately ten East Asian countries, including China, Korea, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia. Aged between 17 and 27, they meet every year in Hong Kong for six weeks of rehearsals, concluding with an international tour. The musicians are given full scholarships to work under the tutelage of outstanding orchestral musicians from Europe and the USA. During recent years, the AYO’s musical partners have included the violinists Gidon Kremer and Gil Shaham, the cellists Steven Isserlis and Alban Gerhardt and the pianists Alicia de Larrocha and Leon Fleisher. The British conductor James Judd is chief conductor of the Asian Youth Orchestra.

www.asianyouthorchestra.com

China | Hong Kong | Indonesia | Japan | Korea | Malaysia | Philippines | Singapore | Taiwan | Thailand | Vietnam
August 30, 2017 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Jörg Thadeusz
Patron of the Evening
James Judd

© Miguel Alonso

The British conductor James Judd is the quintessential musical cosmopolitan. At the moment, he is not only chief conductor of the Asian Youth Orchestra, but also leads ensembles in New York, Israel and Korea. Starting in the autumn of 2017, the Slovak Philharmonic in Bratislava will be added to the list. Previously, the conductor worked for many years in New Zealand and Florida. In addition, the 67-year-old dedicates a major part of his time to pedagogical work with young musicians, whether at the Juilliard School in New York, the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia or the national youth orchestras of New Zealand and Australia. Among Judd’s performances in recent years, a performance of Britten’s War Requiem in Bucharest, Orff’s Carmina Burana in the desert at Masada and two concerts opening the Opera House in Dubai stand out. Judd was also involved in three performances during the festival commemorating the 100th birthday of Yehudi Menuhin at Berlin’s Konzerthaus in the spring of 2016.

www.jamesjudd.net

 Conductor
Vadim Repin

© DGKasskara

The Russian violinist Vadim Repin began his international career when he was still a teenager: at the age of eleven, he gave his debut in Moscow and St. Petersburg in 1982, at the age of 13 his debuts in Berlin, Tokyo and Helsinki followed, and at 14 he first performed at New York’s Carnegie Hall. Ever since, Repin, a native of Novosibirsk in Siberia, has been among the elite of violinists, performing at all the world’s great concert halls, from Mexico City to Madrid, in Amsterdam, Seoul, Taipei and Bangkok. Beyond the classical violin repertoire, Repin also champions new works. Thus, he performed the world premiere of the film music for the silent movie Love (with Great Garbo) of 1927 at London’s Royal Festival Hall in February 2016, written for him by Aphrodite Raickopoulou. For the Trans-Siberian Arts Festival in Novosibirsk, which he founded in 2014, he has commissioned violin concerti from Benjamin Yussupov and Lera Auerbach. Vadim Repin plays a Stradivarius built in 1733.

www.vadimrepin.com

Violin

CHUN-WAI WONG

"As the Heart Soars" (2017, German Premiere)

MAX BRUCH

Concerto for Violin No. 1 in G-Minor Op. 26 (1868)

GUSTAV MAHLER

Symphony No. 1 in D-Major (1888)

7 pm: Pre-Concert Talk with Dieter Rexroth at the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free admission for ticket holders at 6:45 pm

PROGRAMME

The musicians of the Asian Youth Orchestra have proved their qualities many a time over the past 25 years – not only in the Far East, but also on concert tours throughout the USA and Europe. Now they make their debut at the festival Young Euro Classic in Berlin: about 100 excellently educated students from ten East Asian countries including China, Japan, Korea, Thailand and Malaysia. Anyone familiar with the enormous Asian interest in classical music will not be surprised at the German-Austrian programme they are preparing to measure up to the competition: the centrepiece is Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 1, an hour-long musical novel in which marches, waltzes and folk songs, the trivial and the pathetic mix. In addition, the Russian world-class violinist Vadim Repin plays a much-loved romantic highlight, Max Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1.

Concert Partner

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Asian Youth Orchestra

Zu seinen Mitbegründern gehörte 1990 der legendäre Geiger Yehudi Menuhin; seitdem hat das Asian Youth Orchestra (AYO) bei fast 400 Konzerten in aller Welt seine hervorragenden Qualitäten unter Beweis gestellt. Als erstes ausländisches Orchester überhaupt trat das AYO in Vietnam auf. Die 110 Musikerinnen und Musiker des AYO sind in etwa zehn Ländern Ostasiens zuhause, darunter China, Korea, Japan, Thailand, Indonesien und Malaysia. Zwischen 17 und 27 Jahre jung, treffen sie sich jedes Jahr im Sommer in Hongkong zu einer sechswöchigen Probenphase, die mit einer internationalen Tournee abgeschlossen wird. Mit Vollstipendien ausgestattet, arbeiten sie unter der Anleitung hervorragender Orchestermusiker aus Europa und den USA. Zu den musikalischen Partnern des AYO zählten in den vergangenen Jahren die Geiger Gidon Kremer und Gil Shaham wie die Cellisten Steven Isserlis und Alban Gerhardt oder die Pianisten Alicia de Larrocha und Leon Fleisher. Chefdirigent des AYO ist der Brite James Judd.

www.asianyouthorchestra.com

China | Hongkong | Indonesien | Japan | Korea | Macao | Malaysia | Philippinen | Singapur | Taiwan | Thailand | Vietnam
30. August 2017 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

James Judd

© Miguel Alonso

Der Brite James Judd ist ein musikalischer Weltbürger par excellence. Gegenwärtig wirkt  er nicht nur als Chefdirigent des Asian Youth Orchestra, sondern leitet auch Ensembles in New York, Israel und Korea. Ab Herbst 2017 kommt noch die Slowakische Philharmonie in Bratislava hinzu. Zuvor war der Dirigent lange Jahre in Neuseeland und in Florida tätig. Darüber hinaus widmet der 67-Jährige einen wichtigen Teil seiner Zeit der pädagogischen Arbeit mit jungen Musikern, sei es an der Juilliard School in New York, dem Curtis Institute in Philadelphia oder mit den Jugendorchestern von Neuseeland und Australien. Aus den Auftritten Judds in den letzten Jahren ragen ein Konzert mit Brittens War Requiem in Bukarest, Orffs Carmina Burana in der Wüste von Masada und zwei Konzerte zur Eröffnung des Opernhauses in Dubai hervor. Auch an der Festwoche im Frühjahr 2016 zur Erinnerung an den 100. Geburtstag Yehudi Menuhins im Berliner Konzerthaus war Judd mit drei Auftritten beteiligt.

www.jamesjudd.net

Dirigent
Vadim Repin

© DGKasskara

Der russische Geiger Vadim Repin hat schon als Jugendlicher internationale Karriere gemacht: Als Elfjähriger debütierte er 1982 in Moskau und St. Petersburg, als 13-Jähriger in Berlin, Tokyo und Helsinki, als 14-Jähriger in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall. Seitdem zählt der im sibirischen Nowosibirsk geborene Repin zur Elite der Geiger, der in allen großen Konzertsälen weltweit auftritt, ob in Mexico City oder Madrid, in Amsterdam, Seoul, Taipeh oder Bangkok. Abseits des klassischen Violinrepertoires engagiert sich Repin auch für neue Werke. So spielte er im Februar 2016 in Londons Royal Festival Hall die Uraufführung der von Aphrodite Raickopoulou für ihn geschriebenen Musik zum Stummfilm „Love“ (mit Greta Garbo) von 1927. Für das von ihm 2014 gegründete Transsibirische Kunstfestival in Nowosibirsk gab er Violinkonzerte bei Benjamin Yussupov und Lera Auerbach in Auftrag. Vadim Repin spielt auf einer Stradivari von 1733.

www.vadimrepin.com

Violine

NN

Auftragswerk (Deutsche Erstaufführung)

MAX BRUCH

Konzert für Violine Nr. 1 g-Moll op. 26 (1868)

GUSTAV MAHLER

Symphonie Nr. 1 D-Dur (1888)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Dr. Dieter Rexroth im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Die Musikerinnen und Musiker vom Asian Youth Orchestra haben in den letzten 25 Jahren schon oft bewiesen, wie gut sie sind – nicht nur in Fernen Osten, sondern auch auf Tourneen in die USA und nach Europa. Jetzt kommen sie zum ersten Mal zum Festival Young Euro Classic nach Berlin: etwa 100 hervorragend ausgebildete Studenten aus zehn ostasiatischen Ländern wie China, Japan, Korea, Thailand und Malaysia. Wer das enorme Interesse der Asiaten an klassischer Musik kennt, wundert sich nicht über das deutsch-österreichische Programm, mit dem sie sich in Berlin der Konkurrenz stellen wollen: Im Mittelpunkt steht Gustav Mahlers erste Symphonie, ein einstündiger musikalischer Roman, in dem sich Märsche, Walzer und Volkslied, Triviales und Pathetisches miteinander mischen. Dazu spielt der russische Weltklassegeiger Vadim Repin ein vielgeliebtes romantisches Highlight, das erste Violinkonzert von Max Bruch.

Partner des Abends

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.