ARAB YOUTH PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA

Festival Young Euro Classic vom 26.07. - 11.08.2013 im Konzerthaus BerlinThe Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra (AYPO) was founded after many years of planning in 2006 by Dr. Fawzy El-Shamy, then Dean of the Cairo Conservatory. For Dr. Fawzy El-Shamy, Germany became an important place in his life next to his Egyptian homeland, since he studied bassoon at the Frankfurt am Main Music Academy and completed his doctoral degree in musicology at the University of Marburg. Unique throughout the Arab world, AYPO has the declared goal of improving the technical and artistic abilities of the young musicians involved. However, the project is equally keen to create opportunities for encounters through music – developing a dialogue between young people beyond territorial and religious boundaries. AYPO undertook its first tour to Germany in 2007; in 2013 the orchestra made its Young Euro Classic debut. In 2016, the orchestra includes 65 musicians from eight Arab countries (Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, Iraq, Kuwait, the Palestinian Territories, United Arab Emirates and Syria). This year, in cooperation with Young Euro Classic, the musicians assemble in Berlin for their rehearsal phase before their performance at the Konzerthaus. The project is supported financially by the German Federal Foreign Office.

International
August 30, 2016 8 pm

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Constantin Schreiber

TV Moderator

Constantin Schreiber

© Urbschat

Born in 1979, Constantin Schreiber has one of the most extraordinary journalistic profiles in Germany. Apart from his work as moderator and correspondent for the TV stations n-tv and RTL, he also moderates and produces several successful TV formats in Arabic in the Middle East. He edited the international bestseller 1000 Peitschenhiebe (1000 Lashes), featuring texts by the Saudi blogger Raif Badawi. His show Marhaba – Ankommen in Deutschland (Marhaba – Arriving in Germany), which addresses refugees in Germany in Arabic, has caused a massive stir in Germany and abroad. In 2016 he won the prestigious Grimme Prize for his moderation of this feature. The Süddeutsche Zeitung subsequently called him the “German Minister of Integration”.

Constantin Schreiber has a law degree, interned at the Deutsche Welle and was a Reuters Fellow at the University of Oxford. For three years he worked as a TV journalist in Dubai and from 2009 to 2011 at the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He speaks Arabic fluently.

Patron of the Evening
Heiner Buhlmann

Heiner Buhlmann (Foto privat)_webOriginally from Bremen, Heiner Buhlmann (b. 1947) studied piano, organ, oboe, composition and conducting. After completing his studies, he decided to dedicate himself to supporting young musicians, becoming the director of the Bremen Music School. In 1980 he founded the Bremen Youth Symphony Orchestra, which he conducted for 32 years, until his retirement in 2012. In 1982 the Oldenburg University Orchestra and the Bremen Youth Sinfonietta followed, and in 1999 the International Youth Symphony Orchestra Bremen, uniting 200 young musicians from 23 countries. Buhlmann undertook numerous concert tours through Europe and other continents with these ensembles. The conductor has had a close working relationship with Fawzy El-Shamy and the Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra for many years. Furthermore, he has given school and family concerts with the Bremen Philharmonic and, together with his wife Helga Warner-Buhlmann, school concerts with the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich.

Conductor
Gala El Hadidi

El Hadidi 1The mezzo-soprano Gala El Hadidi is a native of Cairo, where she also attended the German School. Directly after graduating from high school, she was engaged by the Cairo Opera House, where she appeared in smaller roles in operas including Mascagni’s Cavalleria rusticana, Menotti’s The Medium and Weill’s Threepenny Opera. In addition to singing, she studied philosophy, English and comparative literature at the American University. Later, she moved on to Yale University in the USA and also attended master classes with Marilyn Horne, Teresa Berganza and Francisco Araiza. In the meantime, the 33-year-old singer can look back on a highly successful career: since 2010 she has been an ensemble member at the Semper Opera in Dresden, first as part of the Young Ensemble, now in the regular ensemble. Here, Gala El Hadidi has performed very different roles, such as Rosina in The Barber of Seville, Prince Orlofsky in Die Fledermaus and Cherubino in The Marriage of Figaro. She was particularly acclaimed for her portrayal of Bizet’s Carmen, a role which was also the subject of her Master’s degree thesis.

Mezzo Soprano

AMIR KHALAF

“Sacrifice for Orchestra” (World Premiere)

CAMILLE SAINT SAËNS

“Mon cœur s’ouvre à ta voix” from “Samson et Delilah” (1877)

ALI OSMAN

“Fusion” (2007, German Premiere)

GEORGES BIZET

“Habanera” and “Seguidilla” from “Carmen” (1875)

JOHANNES BRAHMS

Symphony No. 2 in D-Major Op. 73 (1877)

7 pm: Pre-concert Lecture with Anne Kussmaul in the Werner-Otto-Saal
Free for ticket holders (admission at 6:45 pm)

PROGRAMME

The Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra already performed at Young Euro Classic in 2013. Even at that time, the fact that an orchestra with young musicians, male and female, dared to travel to Berlin from the crisis-ravaged Arab region caused quite a stir. Now the Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra returns – at a time where the Middle East is once again in the throes of unrest and terror. The Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra, its artistic director and founder Fawzy El Shamy from Egypt and its German conductor Heiner Buhlmann want to set a signal against all that: an orchestra made up of young musicians, bearers of hope in a hopelessly antagonistic world. The programme covers a great variety of styles, from brand-new orchestral music by Arab composers to French opera arias and Johannes Brahms’ light-filled Symphony No. 2.

Concert Partner

Broadcast

This concert will be broadcast via live stream on ARTE Concert and will be available online for 30 days. A production by EuroArts Music and ZDF in cooperation with ARTE.

Festival Impressions

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

ARAB YOUTH PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA

Festival Young Euro Classic vom 26.07. - 11.08.2013 im Konzerthaus BerlinDas Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra (AYPO) ist nach langjährigen Planungen 2006 von Dr. Fawzy El-Shamy, dem damaligen Dekan des Konservatoriums Kairo, ins Leben gerufen worden. Für Dr. Fawzy El-Shamy ist neben seiner ägyptischen Heimat auch Deutschland zu einem Fixpunkt in seinem Leben geworden, da er sowohl Fagott an der Hochschule für Musik in Frankfurt am Main studierte als auch im Fach Musikwissenschaft in Marburg promovierte. Als einzigartiges Projekt in der arabischen Welt hat das AYPO das erklärte Ziel, die technischen und künstlerischen Fähigkeiten der beteiligten jungen Musiker zu verbessern. Ein gleichwertiges Anliegen ist dem Projekt aber, eine Begegnung durch Musik zu schaffen – und damit einen Dialog junger Menschen über territoriale und religiöse Grenzen hinweg zu entwickeln. Bereits 2007 kam das AYPO zu seiner ersten Konzertreise nach Deutschland; 2013 trat das Orchester zum ersten Mal bei Young Euro Classic auf. 2016 setzt sich das Orchester aus 65 Musikern aus acht arabischen Ländern zusammen (Ägypten, Algerien, Syrien, Tunesien, Irak, Kuwait, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate und Palästinensische Gebiete). In diesem Jahr absolvieren die Musiker ihre Probenphase in Kooperation mit Young Euro Classic in Berlin. Das Projekt wird durch das Auswärtige Amt gefördert.

International
30. August 2016 20:00

Konzerthaus, Berlin

Constantin Schreiber

TV Nahostexperte und Grimme-Preisträger

Constantin Schreiber

© Urbschat

Constantin Schreiber, geboren 1979, hat eines der außergewöhnlichsten journalistischen Profile in Deutschland. Neben seiner Arbeit als Moderator und Korrespondent für die Sender n-tv und RTL moderiert und produziert er mehrere erfolgreiche TV-Formate auf Arabisch im Nahen Osten. Er ist Herausgeber des internationalen Bestsellers 1000 Peitschenhiebe mit den Texten des saudischen Bloggers Raif Badawi. Seine Sendung Marhaba – Ankommen in Deutschland, die sich auf Arabisch an Flüchtlinge bei uns wendet, erregte großes Aufsehen im In- und Ausland. Für die Moderation der Sendung wurde er 2016 mit dem Grimmepreis ausgezeichnet. Die Süddeutsche Zeitung bezeichnete ihn daraufhin als den „deutschen Integrationsminister“.

Constantin Schreiber ist Jurist, volontierte bei der Deutschen Welle und war Reuters-Stipendiat an der Universität Oxford. Drei Jahre arbeitete er als TV-Journalist in Dubai und von 2009 bis 2011 im Auswärtigen Amt. Er spricht fließend Arabisch.

 Pate des Abends
Heiner Buhlmann

Heiner Buhlmann (Foto privat)_webDer gebürtige Bremer Heiner Buhlmann, Jahrgang 1947, hat sich nach seinem Studium in den Fächern Klavier, Orgel, Oboe, Komposition und Dirigieren ganz der Förderung junger Musiker verschrieben. 1980 gründete er als Direktor der Bremer Musikschule das Jugendsinfonieorchester Bremen, das er 32 Jahre lang, bis zu seiner Pensionierung 2012, leitete. 1982 folgten das Universitätsorchester Oldenburg und die Jugendsinfonietta Bremen, 1999 das Internationale Jugendsinfonieorchester Bremen mit 200 jungen Musikern aus 23 Ländern. Mit diesen Ensembles unternahm Buhlmann zahlreiche Konzertreisen ins europäische und nichteuropäische Ausland. Seit vielen Jahren pflegt der Dirigent freundschaftliche Beziehungen zu Dr. Fawzy El-Shamy und dem Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra. Des weiteren gab er Schul- und Familienkonzerte mit den Bremer Philharmonikern und, gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Helga Warner-Buhlmann, Schulkonzerte mit dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich.

Dirigent
Gala El Hadidi

El Hadidi 1Die in Kairo geborene Mezzosopranistin Gala El Hadidi besuchte dort die deutsche Schule. Direkt nach dem Abitur erhielt sie ein Engagement am Opernhaus Kairo, wo sie in kleineren Rollen u.a. in Mascagnis Cavalleria rusticana, Menottis The Medium und Weills Dreigroschenoper auftrat. Parallel zum Gesang studierte sie Philosophie, Englisch und Vergleichende Literatur an der Amerikanischen Universität in Kairo. Später wechselte sie an die Yale University in den USA und absolvierte außerdem Meisterkurse bei Marilyn Horne, Teresa Berganza und Francisco Araiza. Inzwischen kann die erst 33-jährige Sängerin bereits auf eine sehr erfolgreiche Laufbahn zurückblicken: Seit 2010 ist sie an der Semperoper Dresden engagiert, zuerst im Jungen Ensemble, inzwischen im festen Ensemble. Hier hat Gala El Hadidi bereits sehr unterschiedliche Rollen wie die Rosina im Barbier von Sevilla, den Prinzen Orlofsky in der Fledermaus und den Cherubino in Figaros Hochzeit gesungen. Besonderen Erfolg erzielte mit Bizets Carmen, einer Rolle, über die sie auch ihre Magisterarbeit geschrieben hat.

Mezzosopran

AMIR KHALAF

„Sacrifice for Orchestra“ (Uraufführung)

GEORGES BIZET

„Habanera“ und „Seguidilla“ aus „Carmen“ (1875)

ALI OSMAN

„Fusion“ (2007, Deutsche Erstaufführung)

CAMILLE SAINT SAËNS

„Mon cœur s’ouvre à ta voix” aus „Samson et Delilah” (1877)

JOHANNES BRAHMS

Symphonie Nr. 2 D-Dur op. 73 (1877)

19:00 Uhr: Konzerteinführung mit Anne Kussmaul im Werner-Otto-Saal — Einlass mit Konzertticket um 18:45 Uhr

PROGRAMM

Schon 2013 war das Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra zu Gast bei Young Euro Classic. Und schon damals erregte es großes Aufsehen, dass ein Orchester mit jungen Musikerinnen und Musikern aus dem krisengeschüttelten arabischen Raum die Reise nach Berlin wagte. Nun kommt das Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra wieder – zu einer Zeit, wo der Nahe Osten nach wie vor von Unruhen und Terror gebeutelt wird. Das Arab Youth Philharmonic Orchestra mit seinem künstlerischen Leiter und Gründer Fawzy El Shamy aus Ägypten und dem deutschen Dirigenten Heiner Buhlmann will ein Zeichen dagegen setzen: ein Orchester aus jungen Musikern als Hoffnungsträger in einer hoffnungslos zerstrittenen Welt. Dazu schlägt das Programm einen weiten Bogen von brandneuer Orchestermusik arabischer Komponisten über französische Opernarien bis zur lichtdurchfluteten zweiten Symphonie von Johannes Brahms.
Das Projekt findet in Kooperation mit Young Euro Classic statt.

 

Digitales Programmheft kostenlos zum Download und Drucken oder für das Smartphone. 
Umweltschonend und demokratisch – Hier spielt die Zukunft! Ab dem 10.08. können sie unsere digitalen Programmhefte kostenlos herunterladen.
Hinweis: Es werden keine gedruckten Versionen vor Ort erhältlich sein.

Partner des Abends

Mitschnitt

Arte concert überträgt das Konzert im Livestream. Eine Produktion von EuroArts und ZDF in Kooperation mit Arte.

Festivalimpressionen

Festival Young Euro Classic vom 26.07. - 11.08.2013 im Konzerthaus Berlin
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.